We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding at Kilcoran”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“Perfect Wedding at Kilcoran”
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I recently got married at the Kilcoran Lodge, Cahir, after staying at the hotel last year.
We took 60 guests with us from London, some of whom hired cars from airport, others drive their own by ferry or hired the local mini bus. The hotel itself is blissful, charming & romantic. The lodges are modern and luxurious. The views of the mountains are spectacular. I could not fault this hotel at all. 10/10 - they made my wedding day and stay even more special. All the staff, especially the manager Jackie, were more than helpful. The food was plentiful and very tasty. What more can I say, other than we will be back next year for our 1st anniversary, and many of our guests would like to return too. Just a shame we couldnt have stayed for longer. Honeymoon over & back to work now! *****

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    109
    52
    28
    46
See reviews for
139
154
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
379 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed for a week either side of New Year's Eve with a group of twenty two hikers. We were in four lodges which are excellent value and well heated. The bedrooms are of hotel standard and there is also an excellent large kitchen/diner and sitting room with TV/DVD. We had an excellent New Year's dinner for the group in the hotel. Service and food are excellent. There was also a very large celebration of young farmers and another group as well. Everyone was well looked after, especially the two hard working bar staff and the relief barman who was in for this busy night. During our stay, there were three wedding parties and everything seemed to work well and did not impinge on other guests. All in all a very pleasant place to stay with the bonus of a small swimming pool/jacuzzi/steam room and sauna for the wet days. We have stayed in the lodges before and the recent change of management has not diminished the high standard.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandonDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ire
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Myself and my husband and 3 Children attended a wedding just after christmas, stayed 2 nights, the hotel staff could not have been more helpful, very relaxed holiday, happy children happy parents,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan, ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed here for a reunion because it was central for us all. Good points were the staff were lovely and friendly, it was reasonable and it's setting was amazing. The bad points were ; the rooms were extremely dated, the showers had no power and the bar food was too expensive. The beds were comfy but the heat was on and we weren't able to turn it off. It's an ok spot for a one nighter but i woudn't go there for a break away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headdeball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Stayed for two nights. Had dinner on the first night, very poor. Soggy, mushy pasta & what looked & tasted like packet sauce. Brie was still frozen in the middle. Waitress seemed inexperienced. Room was nice - four poster bed, dark wood, bay window and marble wash stand (ornamental!) Made a change from the typical branded hotels! Staff in the bar & reception desk were lovely and helpful. Enjoyed the stay but the food totally let the hotel down.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I think anyone who rated the this hotel ( as opposed to the Lodges which were better , but variable ) must be related to the owners !! Our room was more than tired , Exhausted !! One pair of faded dirty curtains was 4 inches off the floor, the other pair dragged on the stained faded carpet . The furniture was flimsy and rackerty. The windows were dirty or had obscured glass ( but no view which is a pity as the landscape was beautiful ). The wallpaper grimy and dated . No 'faded splendour ' as no slendour to start with. We love country house chic but this never was chic !! Probably when they were last decorated. The soap in the bathroom was minute and the water from the taps ran blue !! When we mentioned this to Reception different explanations were given, none satisfactory ! Hope it was safe.

The main communal rooms were decorated in 1980's English pub style. And less than clean. The dining room was 1960's Boarding House Grim as were the breakfasts. Tinned pear and peaches, rather odd sausages and rubbery scrambled eggs, baked beans were a 'special' order. Toast was white bread ( and Ireland has such fab breads !!) . We didn't eat any other meals 'in'.

The swimming pool was very small , there the blue water sort of helped ! But it was in a hut like building and not very pleasant .

Reception was hardly ever staffed !!

For what it was it was very expensive. WE have stayed in better hotels in Ireland for half the price !

Any redeeming features ? Yes, the staff were friendly and some even helpful, but there didn't seem to be many around at any time !! The bedroom was quite big and the bed was new and comfortable , but might not be after a few months of use !!

The actual building could make a great hotel. Fabulous scenery around. A good basic building shape with good sized rooms but it needs gutting and complete re furbish.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LancashireFlower08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed in the Sugar loaf lodge part of the Kilcoran Lodge the last week of July.We found the apartments to be of a very high standard.Each bedroom had an en suite which was great. This apartment also had a dowenstairs bedroom which was very good as we had an elderly person travelling with us.The Kitchen was spacious and seated up to 6 people and their was also decking out the back with seating.The leisure centre and gym were great.We could not praise the staff and the apartments enough.We have family living in Tipperary and this is one place we will stay again.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hearts170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahir
4.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
394 reviews
13.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
554 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
21.5 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
580 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Property: Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Address: Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilcoran Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the song goes 'it's a long way to Tipperary', but we all know it's really not that far, and trust us - the drive will be so worth it! Situated only two hours drive from Dublin or Galway and just one hour from Cork city, Kilcoran Lodge Hotel is steeped in history. Originally built in the last century as the Earl of Glengall's hunting lodge, the hotel is set in an elevated position on twenty acres of sumptuous landscaped gardens and overlooks the breathtaking views of the Knockmealdown Mountains. Truly the ideal setting for a romantic escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kilcoran Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcoran Hotel Cahir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing