We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
The Old Convent(Clogheen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveler rating
219
123
57
34
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
123
57
34
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreold worldold stylebeautiful settingopen firedinner dancefriendly atmospherestaff were fantasticpool and gymwedding receptionfood was lovelymodern hotelsunday lunchnight portersecond to nonebar menugreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 487 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tim and I visited the Kilcoran Lodge on Saturday 31st August. On the way to climb Galtymore we stopped by for coffee and scones and later, having climbed the mountain, we returned to Kilcoran Lodge for a delicious treat of 'Sticky Toffee Pudding' with coffee. During that visit, my daughter, who lives in Madrid, tried to call me on my mobile but the line kept dropping. I asked the hotel reception if there was any possibility of having my daughter ring the hotel land line as we had been cut off and she was a little distressed.

Instantly the woman offered me the use of their office and made the room available to me privately for the phone call, which came through moments later. The receptionist was genuinely concerned and could not have been more helpful or empathic. When I returned to my coffee it had gone cold and the barman immediately appeared and discreetly replaced the coffee with a full pot of coffee.

The staff at Kilcoran Lodge are amazing. They are genuine and polite and constantly paying attention to customer needs. I would highly recommend a visit. The views are spectacular and the food is first class. There is a warm and friendly atmosphere and the staff are the best I have come across in years.

Ruth and Tim say a big Thank You to all who helped us that afternoon and wish to convey our gratitude and appreciation for the amazing service and genuine thoughtfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We got this on a pigsback offer. We arrived in the hotel today, the first thing we heard was the receptionist on the phone saying she was to busy then just asked what was our name, she didnt even greet us. we left the hotel 20mins after checking in as we couldn't stay in the room as it was so dirty and grubby looking. The rooms badly need a lick of paint and they need to get rid of cob webs and sliders in the rooms. We had room number 1. Whilst I understand the hotel is old style, our room was dirty style.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lisa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Before I start, I just want to say thank you, thank you, thank you to ALL the staff at Kilcoran Lodge.
I chose this hotel after searching through many hotels around the South and South East of Ireland, we come from Tramore, County Waterford. It appealed to us as it was truly romantic, it has the Knockmealdown mountains in front of the hotel, looking out to the Vee, as a scenic backdrop, and was an amazing place for children, as we had many in our party. Although there is a road at he base of it, it is far enough away to relax knowing the kids are playing in the grounds. We had kids from ages 2 and upwards. It is an old country hunting lodge, with old style rooms made modern, The honeymoon suite was exceptional, with old style furniture and an amazing four poster bed, fire place and old style bathroom. Just beautiful. The hotel also has use of the Mews/Cottages (self catering apartments) Which were modern and our family loved! All our guests commented on how beautiful and intimate our ceremony was, we had an fantastic drinks and snack reception on the terrace, just outside the main ballroom. We then proceeded to the beautifully landscaped grounds for our photos. We could not have wanted for anything more beautiful. The food was amazing at the wedding.... The food was amazing at lunch.... The food was amazing at breakfast.... And on the Saturday night the hotel put on a buffet dinner for us consisting of lasagna, salads, cold meats, baked potatoes, and wine.... enough and more to fill our bellies for thennext stage of our wedding party. The service from the bar, reception, waitress, AND OF COURSE CONNIE THE MANAGER... was second to none, we did not have to want or worry about anything.
One of the children in our group was up early in the morning, let himself out of the room, went down to reception, and asked for juice, breakfast and cartoons.... All of which he was catered for, he was only 3.5 years old. They looked after him as if he was their own! We took all our kids to the swimming pool, on the saturday and sunday, which added to our hotel experience, we all enjoyed that and having an awesome time in the Jacuzzi.
The cost over all was fantastic, considering we could have paid more for less in the many other hotels we searched in. And trust me.... I searched far and wide for the prefect settings, perfect management, and perfect overall ambiance. We had a two day MAJOR party which benefited both sides. On a final note, when myself and the groom when into the honeymoon suite before the first dance, there was a framed picture of myself and the groom, with fruit, champagne, and chocolates which made us feel really special and our 3 year old son did not want to leave our room the next day, as he said our room had better food than anywhere else... Ha Ha. Thank you, Connie, Christene, Morris and the other short haired blond bar man (sorry we cant remember your name xxx, the one who made our awesome Springbok shooters) PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN! Also our babysitter Eileen, thanks for putting up with our 5am entrance! We all would recommend this hotel to anyone, short stay, long stay or wedding venue. Thanks again to all. xxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just back from a great and relaxing stay at Kilcoran lodge,
Staff were without exception GREAT nothing too much trouble, Great deal from pigsback 2 nights B& B and up to 2 kids free for €89- can't beat that! kids meals were not included- but they didn't cahrge us for the little fella's breakfast- then he hadn't really time to eat as he had made a load of friends and wante dto rush off and play. Barman- Liam was fabulous, very informative and a great help with where to go that my 6 year old would enjoy. Breakfast was very good buffet style and the staff would organise porridge different style of eggs and any other requests that they were given- very happily. Was there about 20 years ago and must say while its a bit different going back with a child - it still retains its old charm.
Well done Kilcoran - you haven't lost the personal touch . will be back

Room Tip: Room 10 - nice room double and a single - very comfy
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdelCAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I travelled from England to attend a family wedding which was on a Friday and most of the wedding party stayed for the whole weekend! It was a fantastic venue, the food was gorgeous and the accommodation great too. We had a little problem with changing accommodation, leaving us hours without a room but the receptionist sorted it out straight away for us. The hotel provided tea and cakes on Saturday afternoon and a delicious buffet that evening. Also, the breakfast was great with plenty of choice. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff even though we were an extremely loud and late party!! Thank you!

Room Tip: The 2 bed apartments in a little stoned courtyard are in a perfect setting and are lovely and spacious inside. Only downside is the fact they have a double bed in each room instead of perhaps 2 singles in one of the room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynni55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews