We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous we'd definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous we'd definitely return”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were impressed with the cleanliness of the home and the friendliness of the owner. The breakfast was everything you could want. Todd was an excellent host who filled our every need and request and took a personal interest in each of use. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    43
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
49
136
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, YX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Irish are generally warm and friendly, but when you stay at Tir Na Nog, Tommy ( who can talk the hind leg off a donkey) and Joan who is sweet as the day is long, really bring you in and make you feel at home.

Beautiful landscaping and spacious rooms make for a very comfortable stay, the fireplace in the sitting room is so inviting. We postponed work, just to sit and chat with our hosts and other guests.

Breakfast! My favorite part of any trip to Ireland or the UK, and they do one of the best. Perfectly grilled sausages and bacon... Crisp white pudding, fresh mushrooms and perfect eggs, as well as an assortment of fruits cereals and more. We managed to skip lunch and dinner the next day.

I highly highly recommend a stay in Cashel, if only to pick up a wheel of Blue or Crozier Blue (only 15€ at the farmhouse/factory for a 1.5kg wheel!). And you have to stay at Tir Na Nog, try for Saturday, Tommy promised to take us to the local, within walking distance. A night with Tommy at the pub will be the reason we return to Ireland, will be so much fun.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddyrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We chose Tir Na nOg based on reviews & were disappointed in our choice. Tommy was extremely friendly & helpful, Joan didn't make herself known other than to say hello as she walked into the kitchen. The house is in a pretty rural setting with 1 pub in walking distance, about 15-20 minute drive from Cashel. Our room had a king sized bed which was great, but it is too wide/big for the size of the room & made it awkward for 2 people to move around at the same time. The sink (in the bedroom) was inconvenient; we had to put a suitcase & a backpack under it; the wardrobe was awkward - door opened less than halfway before hitting the bedside table. Waterpressure was poor. Absolutely no WiFi service anywhere in the house when we visited, despite attempts to reset the modem.
Comparing it with the other B&B's we stayed at, would not recommend Tir Na nOg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dacks3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, mn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Staying with Tommy & Joan is worth the short drive out of Kilkenny. They were wonderful, warm hosts, their home was spotless, and Joan's breakfast was our favorite of the trip. Tommy gave us a dinner suggestion in Dualla that was great and a route to travel the next morning for the best sites. We'd definitely stay with them again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our first meeting with our host Tommy set the tone for a most-friendly and warm visit. Our rooms were lovely and the food excellent. The setting was quiet and we were close to places of interest. We found the entire atmosphere most appealing.

Room Tip: Use the green B&B Ireland guide---very accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mikeandpat56201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here with another couple for 1 night September 2012, and while the host Tommy was very friendly and helfpul there were a number of real disappointments with the place. It was a long way from town, was not terribly clean especially in the public areas. There was no pressure at all in the showers and the bathrooms were extremely cramped. Finally, although they claim to have free wifi none of the 3 couples there that night were able to get any internet. We have been in Ireland for 2 weeks and this is the first time we have had a B&B that was disappointing although it was the same price as all the other ones we stayed in.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ssannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tir na nog t, Owner at Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Further to your recent stay , Tommy was very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay and that you never advised Tommy when he checked with you on leaving the following morning.
Tir na nog is advertised as been 6km distance from Cashel town
I am sorry but I am unable to accept that my house is not clean. Each day my house is cleaned
I am not sure if you are referring to inside the house or outside my house regarding public areas,
The weather has not been to kind on our lawn & our hedges as you can appreciate we had a lot of rain over the summer. We are now in the process of putting in new flower beds and a new patio .
We do have a big problem with stray dogs coming into our garden, which we have several times addressed to our local dog warren

Our Water comes from the County Council supply and the pressure of our water varies from time to time , however there is sufficient hot water at all time for guests to shower.
You mentioned about the bathrooms were extremely cramped- should you have said this to tommy he would have given you a choice on the other rooms that where free as some of my bathrooms are bigger in size

We did have a problem with wifi It was all over the area for a couple of days . This was totally out of our control
I do offer free Wifi for my guests and I also offer guests that do not have their own computer access to my computer

Tommy & I have ran the Bed and Breakfast for 15 years .We both have great pride in our home.
Our first priority is to make our guests welcome , nice atmosphere, good food and memories.
yours sincererly
Joan Brett Moloney/Tommy Moloney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Tommy was a great host, very helpful and knowledgeable. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent! Tommy had great recommendations for food and entertainment in Cashel. Warm friendly atmosphere. Would definitely stay again, and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
3.6 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
413 reviews
9.4 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
16.4 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
3.9 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#2 of 16 in Cashel
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast
Address: Dualla, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Country Home, set on 3 acres of landscaped gardens. Peaceful surroundings. 3 miles from the historical town of Cashel on the R691 Cashel/Kilkenny Road. Internet and Wifi access. Home baking, breakfast menu, orthopaedic bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing