We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B+B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockville House B&B
Ranked #4 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lovely B+B”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Cashel was not in my original travel plans until I read a "must see" review on Trip Advisor. As it turned out, the Rock of Cashel was one of my favorite places of my 10 day Ireland trip... which brings me to the Rockville House B+B. Our bedroom looked out on The Rock above us, which was lit up beautifully at nighttime. It is within walking distance of the Rock.. a perfect location, and also within walking distance of the pretty little town of Cashel.
Rockville House was super clean, the landscaping was meticulous, and our room was very comfortable. Our host, Patrick Hayes, was quite a character and added to our enjoyment there! He was more than helpful in carrying in our luggage and giving us directions and local tips. Our breakfast, which was cooked by his mother, Anna, was very good.
I highly recommend this B+B to anyone who is in the area.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have a room overlooking the Rock of Cashel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    66
    16
    9
    3
See reviews for
55
100
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband I stayed here during our vacation. I HIGHLY recommend anyone considering booking to go for it. The location is great. Patrick, the host, was filled with many jokes and made us feel right at home. He also gave us great suggestions on what to do and where to eat. Now, I will agree with some of the other reviewers that the decorations are a bit eclectic and yes, not all the towel are the same color... but keep in mind that it's a B&B not the four seasons or hotel chain where all the rooms are cookie cutters. If you are looking for an authentic b&b run by an quintessential Irish farmer, there is nowhere else to stay in Cashel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 226shannong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A friend and I finished a driving trip of Ireland in Cashel. We stayed two nights at the Rockville House B&B. The B&B is so centrally located, you can walk to Cashel's busy downtown area. The Rock of Cashel is visible from the B&B's dining room window. Patrick was a great host. He sent us off to good dinner spots, and kept us entertained. His offbeat sense of humor brightened our rainy stay.

Room Tip: Our bathroom was on the small side. If you are claustrophic, this could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I would highly recommend Rockville for a place to stay! The owner, Patrick, went the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one. I certainly encourage anyone traveling to Ireland to add Rockville to their itinerary.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at Rockville for five days as I first began my trip in Ireland. I stayed out in the stables and the rooms were large, clean, and had newly renovated bathrooms. Patrick provided a great big breakfast every morning that usually kept us full well through lunch. The B&B is a short walk from the Rock of Cashel in one direction and downtown Cashel in another. It's a short walk to restaurants, pubs, shopping etc. Cashel is centrally located and there's multiple day trips to take- we did Limerick, Duncannon, hiked the Vee on Sugarloaf Mtn, etc. Cashel proved to be a great home base. Patrick and Anna were gracious hosts and made us feel so, so welcome. Patrick has a quirky sense of humor and he'll keep you entertained for hours. Overall, an amazing stay. It was my favorite stay we had during our two weeks in Ireland. I can't wait to go back, and I know Rockville will be where I stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Salth20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

this is thee best place to stay in Cashel!! I stayed there five nights and it felt like home. Patrick is awesome and very helpful. It's super close to the main street and if you don't know where something is Patrick will help in any way he can. Breakfast was excellent, very clean, spacious, and comfortable. I hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Octavia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Rockville House B&B was my first stop on my very first visit to Ireland, and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Our large group was easily accommodated and well taken care of by Patrick. I stayed in the "Stables," which is incredibly charming and very clean. The bathrooms were beautiful and the beds were really comfortable. Patrick was such a great time, and if I ever return to Cashel with my family, it will be to Rockville!!

Room Tip: Stables were very quiet and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
596 reviews
10.1 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
414 reviews
11.7 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
13.4 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
14.3 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockville House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockville House B&B

Property: Rockville House B&B
Address: The Rock, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Rockville House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockville House Hotel Cashel
Rockville House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing