We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cashel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joy's Rockside House B&B
Ranked #5 of 16 Cashel B&B and Inns
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great location and wonderful”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We are a family of 5. Our 3 adult children stayed in a triple, while my husband and I were across the hall in a double. The location couldn't be better...right next to the Rock of Cashel and a short walk to downtown. Joan gave us excellent guidance on places to eat and visit. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The food is also good. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    32
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
73
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Joy's Rockside is clean, well-kept and ideally located for a visit to the Rock of Cashel. Unfortunately, we drove right by it and then paid to park in the public lot while we visited the Rock, only to learn that we could have parked closer by pulling into the lot at the B&B! Rem and Joy are lovely people and fix a great breakfast. Joan was an entertaining host and Rem was quick to offer tips about local sites. Don't expect high end decor and atmosphere however. Furnishings are plain and frugal like you'd expect when staying in the spare bedroom at your Grandma's house. It's not fancy or romantic but it's a bargain and there's not a lot of competition in Cashel.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor, top of the stairs was plain but clean and overlooked an unmowed sheep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Bonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Joy's Rockside was perfect. The B&B itself was clean, comfortable and so pretty. Joan and Rem (owners) were wonderful hosts; with Joan giving us a lift to a local site, and waiting for us to look around so she could give us a ride home. I reported a small problem with my shower, and it was fixed before I could return from a stroll around town. I couldn't have asked for better.

And, the location could not be better. I can't tell you how lovely it was to wake up, and see out my window the Rock itself. It was so easy to have my well-prepared breakfast, and just stroll up the hill to the Rock, or stroll a little further to the ruined abby below, or just across the street to the cutest little woolen goods shop you could hope to find.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I were in Cashel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We spent our first night in Ireland here, and were we ever glad! Rem greeted us with a map and a smile, full of recommendations of hidden sites in town and places to eat. They checked us in - our room was ready early! - and it was just right. Comfy bed with a view of a field of sheep! Quintessentially Irish! We met Joan the next morning at our incredible breakfast, I had the traditional Irish and my wife had the rhubarb and homemade yogurt - all of it yummy. Joan gave us helpful insight into Irish living and when we left she even gave us a route to drive to see some awesome scenery. The location cannot be beat - you have a literally 1-minute walk up the hill to the Rock, so you don't have to move your car. Our only complaint - we didn't stay another night! Stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWanderer630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My daughter and I returned to Joy's for 2 nights in May. (wish we had stayed 3) We had stayed there 2 years ago and made it our first reservation for this trip. Joy's is the cleanest, most comfortable B&B we've stayed at in Ireland! Joan is the perfect hostess, full of ideas of where to go and eat. The room we had overlooking the Rock of Cashel was comfortable with excellent views. Joan showed us her new "self catering home" which would be an excellent choice for a family or group of friends. The home is everything you see on the website, very convenient to town and surrounding areas.Cashel is really a good home base to see this area of Ireland. You can be sure that when we return, Joy's will be the first reservation we make!
Leslie and Michelle Giresi

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ireland201016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Joy's Rockside House was to us the epitome of a B&B - tidy, quaint, charming host and hostess, wonderful breakfast, and easy to walk to anywhere in town. And then there is the view of the Rock of Cashel from our bedroom window. When it was all lit up at night, it was like a postcard view. We enjoyed the Rockside House very much, and enjoyed talking to the Joys as well - they are charming people, and when we talk about the friendly folks we met in Ireland, we usually think about them! Breakfast was great, with many choices, and the room was unusually well stocked (soap, shampoo, etc) for a B&B. We also received a good recommendation for dinner at Fahy's, just around the corner. If you stay here, don't miss walking on the path past the Rock to the fields, where you can walk out among the sheep. A true Irish experience, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We spent one night with Joan & Rem and had a wonderful time. The guesthouse is situated near the Rock of Cashel and our room #2 had a view of the Rock with all of its scaffolding. The room was large with 5, count them, 5 windows for loads of light. We had a double and a twin bed, both of which were comfortable. The bathroom had a large tiled shower with great water pressure and plenty of hot water. A bonus was a washcloth, but not sure why shampoo was not provided. It was nice to have ample hooks on the doors for hanging clothes and towels. Everything was extremely clean and in perfect condition. The room looked crisp and charmingly decorated. The breakfast room had much natural light also and the Irish breakfast was tasty. It would have been more convenient to pay by credit card but they were quite clear cash payment was expected, so we planned for that. The free wifi worked well, which is good because the TV was less than standard. It was a 13" tube model and we could only get 2 channels, not a big deal really. We enjoyed how friendly & helpful both of our hosts were. They inquired about our wanderings and suggested a scenic route to reach Waterford (The Vee) and also a dinner suggestion. They really both seemed to enjoy hosting travelers. Parking is on sight and the town is walkable so that is a handy feature also. We had a great experience at this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Room 2 was spacious with many windows and a view of the Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climber_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
597 reviews
10.2 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
415 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
367 reviews
13.5 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy's Rockside House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy's Rockside House B&B

Property: Joy's Rockside House B&B
Address: Rock Villas, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to our award-winning B&B in a quiet area below the Rock of Cashel. Walk to pubs, restaurants, the Rock & Bru Boru. Private off-street parking. Clean, comfortable rooms are specially designed to pamper guests. There are wonderful views of the Rock from our house. Delicious breakfast choices. Cashel is an excellent base for daytrips and we are delighted to help you plan your journey. Let us share the real Ireland with you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joy`s Rockside House Bed And Breakfast
Joy`s Rockside House Hotel Cashel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing