We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genealogy visit and tea service”

Bru Boru Cultural Centre
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bru Boru is a cultural centre located at the foot of the historic Rock of Cashel. It is a regional centre for Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann. The centre is open year round offering a wide array of facilities and attractions. During the summer months from late June to late August there are live traditional Irish music, song and dance shows every Tuesday to Saturday at 9p.m. visitors can also enjoy a pre-booked show meal in our restaurant.Bru Boru also plays host to the imaginative 'Sounds of History' cultural exhibition. This is a series of self guided audio/visual presentations on our rich Irish culture and heritage.Other facilities in Bru Boru include 250 seated theatre, craft shop, cafe, restaurant, Comhaltas Archive, South Tipperary Genealogy suite, restaurant and bar.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genealogy visit and tea service”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough kind words about the staff at Bru Boru. I worked with them today on my genealogy and they were incredibly kind, helpful, patient, and knowledgeable. I also had a fantastic tea service which turned out be a highlight of my visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    23
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice theatre”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came here to see a play. The venue itself is nice--it is small, so there isn't a bad seat in the house. There is an area where they serve drinks at intermission. One thing I noticed: the play we came to see is being shown elsewhere in the country at other venues. Sometimes, the other venues offer a student rate--but Bru Boru did not have student rates, and charged full price for all tickets. Because I am a student, I almost decided to go see the play elsewhere because of this, but in the end, couldn't. I hope in the future, they think about offering student rates for their shows.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank greyhoundymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bru B, Manager at Bru Boru Cultural Centre, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we hope that you enjoyed the show you attended in Brú Ború.
Just to note, we do not have any control or input into seat prices for any outside shows that book our theatre. This is solely the responsibility of the act/promoter.
We have an adult, senior/student and child rate for our own shows of traditional Irish music, song and dance that we run and promote as a Brú Ború show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic show”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we visited this centre for it's Irish cultural show that is on during summer. The show has lots of singing, music and fabulous dancing by some really talented professionals. It is well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank twoaussies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
549 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good background”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Enjoyed getting a good background on the history of the area and of Ireland. Had some great help to get us started on searching for some ancestors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish Show and diner”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

From tuesday until saturday there is a show given on traditional irish music and dancing. The show is excellent. The first part you can visit in the theater, the second part you are invited to meet the players.
We combined this with a diner in the theater. This was dissappointing as the food was not that good. We expected that the dinner would be followed directly with the show, but it was finished already one hour before. Therefore we advice to have a dinner somewhere else before the show. The good thing about the dinner was that all personell seemed to be the players lateron.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ReusEd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bru Boru Cultural Centre also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Bru Boru Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing