We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”

Bru Boru Cultural Centre
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bru Boru is a cultural centre located at the foot of the historic Rock of Cashel. It is a regional centre for Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann. The centre is open year round offering a wide array of facilities and attractions. During the summer months from late June to late August there are live traditional Irish music, song and dance shows every Tuesday to Saturday at 9p.m. visitors can also enjoy a pre-booked show meal in our restaurant.Bru Boru also plays host to the imaginative 'Sounds of History' cultural exhibition. This is a series of self guided audio/visual presentations on our rich Irish culture and heritage.Other facilities in Bru Boru include 250 seated theatre, craft shop, cafe, restaurant, Comhaltas Archive, South Tipperary Genealogy suite, restaurant and bar.
STAPLES
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Really liked the cultural center. my only wish is that we'd been able to attend the play that had been there the nite before. Loved the musical history and history in general ...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1115RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    22
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overview of Irish Music and Dance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just a short walk away from the Rock of Cashel is the Bru Boru Cultural Centre. We enjoyed the short video and the audio tour you could take as you walked through the museum, which walked you through the history various instruments, dance styles, and songs. We went early in the day so we missed some of the shows that they usually offer, but it was still a great experience and provided some insight into the origin and variations of Irish music and dance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stopped in for tourist visit and coffee. Lovely staff, very friendly to us and attentive in coffee shop in particular very helpful with my five year old. Lovely craft shop. Lots of steps here too. Did offer alternate entrance for the wheelchair user today so that was helpful. Same car park used for rock of Cashel so handy. Car park rate 4.50 very clean toilets beside car park too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karentipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Insight into Irish Culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The centre gave helpful insight into Irish culture and history with a multimedia display and interactive items on the way through the exhibition hall. It covered topics such as the famine; music; and dance and strove to be non-political in how it summarised events. It gave a good overview of the history of the Rock of Cashel (which is next door) and we found that helpful as we were on our way there next.

There is an entry fee but there is plenty to keep children entertained with buttons to press and things to look at on the way around. It isn't too long to do and so neither age group should get bored on the way.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Munster02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genealogy Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you have questions about family lines in County Tipperary, the on-site Genealogist is very helpful. We found background information from her experience that enhanced the on-line records available. The center is in the Roch of Cashel parking lot, and a little hard to find. Worth the search.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bru Boru Cultural Centre also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Bru Boru Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing