We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover if in the Area”
Review of Cafe Hans

Cafe Hans
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Brit in Gulf
Level Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Stopover if in the Area”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

A group of old boys descended on Cafe Hans in Cashel for a Saturday lunch. There were eventually 8 of us dining in this small, packed restaurant/cafe. The service was impeccable; as our number swelled, they simply made more space where possible and ensured we had everything we needed. There were 3 (yes, 3) queues, some sat in the little waiting area to the back, others sat near the door and others mingled outside. Everyone waited rather than seek a quieter place. That says a lot!

Lunch menu was good bistro-style fare, a choice of a 2 or 3 courses from a daily menu or choose from the al a carte. Excellent starters and salads; my fish main was well cooked on a chorizo potato base, fresh vegetables and a lovely sauce. Everything was well prepared and presented, there was nothing to fault and with excellent conversation, we had a great time. Regardless of the queue, we were not rushed so if you're in a hurry, try elsewhere. Here, service and satisfaction take priority - and rightly so! If you're on the Cork/Dublin motorway and fancy a bite in Cashel, I cannot think of a better place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie-In-Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    50
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good but small”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our lunch on Fri 4/10/13 in Café Hans. Food excellent and choice on menu also very good. Covered all the basis and staff very efficient, especially Irish Girl who really knew her stuff. The brown bread provided really lovely. Expensive but worth it for a treat. You do have to wait for a table if it is full. They could have seated at least 20 more people and some people had to leave whilst we were there, so it is small and cramped a little but enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosscarbery
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice of meals, and great service.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on way to Dublin. We had 3 children and did not want to break the bank. Great choices for adults, and waiter was excellent with fussy children! They were happy to cook 1/2 portions. Lamb Burger was great, as was the Cod main course.
A 5 star Cafe! Highly Recvomended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thank you Tripadvisor for the recommendation”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The lunch two course menu is excellent and was the size of dinner portions for lunchtime prices. I had a huge pile of mussels, I was a hero and managed to get through them! It was surprisingly smart inside, a little "lady who lunches"! but our sightseeing clothes were ok. The service was friendly without being over familiar. Would go back many times if it was local.

As an aside, it is super handy for the Rock, I would advise going to Cafe Hans after sightseeing as I'm not sure you'd want to go back up the hill with such a full tum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
345 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great food...one block from Rock of Cashel”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Cafe Hans is a small cafe directly next door to the much larger Restaurant Hans. the food was excellent, although the service seemed a little slower than similar type establishments. Be sure and read the cute sayings on the restroom walls. My only criticism is that I had to go up to the register topay, as no ill was ever tendered at our table. This is not untypical in Ireland, but detracts from an otherwise delightful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hans also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Cafe Hans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing