We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for taking pictures of the Rock of Cashel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hore Abbey

Hore Abbey
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great spot for taking pictures of the Rock of Cashel”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Looking back up the hill from the Hore Abby is a great spot to take pictures of the Rock of Cashel. To reach the Abby, you’ll need to take a little trek across a cow pasture to get there but it’s well worth it. There is no entry fee. Much of the Hore Abby structure is still standing and intact. I found it to have quite a tranquil, reflective feeling.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CPaM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    130
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very near to rock of cashel.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

we went here after going to rock of cashel.
it was worth checking out as it was very near.
beautiful hore and great for photos.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank horan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hore Abby is worth stopping for! It gets eclipsed by its big brother the rock of cashel, but it lacks in nothing. I liked how it ws alone in a green pasture. And instead of turning it into a tourist attraction, it is left alone. When you are there, there will be no other people, and no one working there. You can walk and take pictures freely, with the cute cows poking their head in to say hello. It is still almost fully standing, but with no roof, and a charming little graveyard. If you really want to be transported in time, without any tourist stuff, go there!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was the first ancient building I had ever seen in Europe when I came visiting in college ten years ago, and I will always be blown away by it. Definitely worth a stop at, especially because it's very easy to walk to before or after your trip to Cashel. It's nice to look up at Cashel from the Abbey and down at the Abbey from Cashel. It's in the middle of a cow field with no reception or fee, but do be respectful. There has generally always been a sad bit of rubbish laying around when I've stopped in, so do consider playing the role of Good Samaritan and taking it off site if you see any.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the walk through the cow pasture.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Offers great views of the Rock of Cashel. The cows will stare at you but they won't bother you walking past them. Interesting piece of history and it's free. We used our GPS to find it and there is a little parking spot for 1 or 2 cars and a pathway to the ruins.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefJeffTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hore Abbey also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
County Tipperary, Province of Munster
 

Been to Hore Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing