We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids, it's free and full of history”
Review of Hore Abbey

Hore Abbey
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great place for kids, it's free and full of history”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Am a regular visitor, bring the kids,it's free and you will nearly always have the place to yourself. Great for a picnic and chilling out. It's a bit if a trek to get into it from the road, that all part of it. Worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank DinkyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    138
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craig, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and you see something new every time”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Three times we've wandered around Hore Abbey, and every time we manage to see something different. The light is different, details stand out. It's a quiet place, a reflective place, and you should not miss it if you're in Cashel. Seriously. Don't miss it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Melancholy ruin”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This place evokes strong feelings on the gray cloudy day that we were there. The views to the Rock of Cashel are amazing, and the tranquility of the cows grazing there much as they probably were when the abbey was hosting abbots is bucolic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Europhile62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lashed
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Better than the Rock!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

When we were visiting the Rock of Cashel, we noticed these abbey ruins down the hill and asked our guide about them. She told us we were welcome to walk down and visit. It's a bit of a hike and you have to pass through a field full of cattle - but we loved the abbey and thought it was even more interesting than the Rock! The Rock was quite crowded and much of it was inaccessible to tourists but the abbey is completely unmonitored. We spent over an hour exploring the ruins, trying to read the grave stones, and just sitting on the walls enjoying the view. We were by ourselves the entire time. This really was something special!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It only takes an hour to view Hore Abbey”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Don't skip this little gem when in Cashel. Entrance is via a little one person gate and through a cow pasture -we met the farmer- mind your step as the cows don't acknowledge the little path as being for humans. Queen Elizabeth visited in 2011, and the farmer was very happy to tell us about the security measures in place for her visit
Free, The Abbey is a haunting place. Very quiet it affords wonderful views of the Rock directly above.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank susanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hore Abbey also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
County Tipperary, Province of Munster
Cahir, County Tipperary
 

Been to Hore Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing