We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Briens Cashel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, IN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This lodge is perfectly located at the base of the Rock of Cashel and Hore Abbey. The rooms were very clean and the hosts were absolutely wonderful. It was a short walk into town for a pint at night. The whole landscape was breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
64
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our first 3 nights in Ireland - glorious start of a wonderful Ireland vacation. Everything was perfect - vacation place, amazing views, beautiful garden, convenient location (easy walk to Rock of Cashel and Hore Abbey and town), immaculately clean, comfortable and quiet, lovely continental breakfast, self catering common kitchen, and welcoming and gracious hosts. We were exhausted after trans-Atlantic flight, and hours before check in, Brid found us a room so we could sleep. Much above expectations even after reading excellent online reviews! Thank you, Tom and Brid!

Room Tip: All rooms equally wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

A group of us who were cycling and hiking through Ireland stayed here, and what a beautiful place it was. My husband and I had stayed here a few years ago, and remembered how lovely it was, so we knew we would book it for our cycling trip. The setting is so beautiful and convenient, and the O'Brien's were unbelievably helpful to us. They gave us a place to store our bicycles, and also helped us track down some lost luggage which couldn't seem to find it's way to us! Cashel is a must-see destination, and O'Brien's Lodge is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nursetommey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast was excellent. Tom and Brid O'Brien gave us kind and sensible advice when we had to deal with a rental car problem. I highly recommend this place. Both ruins can be seen from the property.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about O'Brien's Cashel Lodge, but I'll try to sum it up.

Location:
Situated between The Rock Of Cashel and Hore Abbey, it literally couldn't be better. You can see both ruins from the property and each are within touching distance.

Rooms:
Finished to a very high standard and retaining the character of the farm house it was converted from. Very clean and good quality bed sheets and towels. Only negatives are that there wasn't a TV in the room (although there was a shared lounge/kitchen which was lovely and has a TV and wood burning fire) and the shower didn't drain well.

Breakfast:
Although only serving a continental breakfast, it was of very high quality and very tasty. There was a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, breads and cheeses - all of very good quality and definitely NOT the value brands. The tea and coffee was all free (available all day) and again very good quality - there was even fresh ground coffee and French presses available. A nice touch.

Overall:
A perfectly situated, family run B&B which far exceeded our expectations.



  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Chop_Chop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fine if you are going through Tipperary anyway but don't make a detour especially, like we did. The campsite is very expensive for what you get. The gentleman was very friendly but the lady not so much (not sure if this was his wife or not). Great view of the rock but personally don't get what all the fuss is about. Expensive to go in, and dog's aren't allowed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bili-bo_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed the night with a few friends at this amazing place. Really was just looking for a place to stay so that we could visit the Rock of Cashel the next day. WOW! This place is beautiful. Everything seemed new, our room was way more than we expected. The staff was really nice, and woke up to the view of one of the most famous castles in Ireland. Really have no complaints about this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
11.8 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
10.1 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aulber House
Aulber House
#2 of 19 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#1 of 19 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#3 of 19 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Briens Cashel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Briens Cashel Lodge

Property: O'Briens Cashel Lodge
Address: Camus Road | St. Patricks Rock, Cashel, Ireland (Formerly O'Briens Holiday Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Briens Cashel Lodge Is a family run guest house situated within easy walking distane of the ROck of Cashel ,Hoare Abbey and the town of Cashel.We have had three different names ( obriens farm house hostel. Holiday Lodge) as we have developed over the last 25 Years . O'Brien's Cashel lodge is the name we have settled on , it covers the many options that we give our guests , Bed and Breakfast ,Self catering or caravan and camping.There is private parking and WiFi for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your O'Briens Cashel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing