We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, even better rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough good things about O'Brien's Cashel Lodge, but I'll try to sum it up.

Location:
Situated between The Rock Of Cashel and Hore Abbey, it literally couldn't be better. You can see both ruins from the property and each are within touching distance.

Rooms:
Finished to a very high standard and retaining the character of the farm house it was converted from. Very clean and good quality bed sheets and towels. Only negatives are that there wasn't a TV in the room (although there was a shared lounge/kitchen which was lovely and has a TV and wood burning fire) and the shower didn't drain well.

Breakfast:
Although only serving a continental breakfast, it was of very high quality and very tasty. There was a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, breads and cheeses - all of very good quality and definitely NOT the value brands. The tea and coffee was all free (available all day) and again very good quality - there was even fresh ground coffee and French presses available. A nice touch.

Overall:
A perfectly situated, family run B&B which far exceeded our expectations.



  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank El_Chop_Chop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 172 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2014

Fine if you are going through Tipperary anyway but don't make a detour especially, like we did. The campsite is very expensive for what you get. The gentleman was very friendly but the lady not so much (not sure if this was his wife or not). Great view of the rock but personally don't get what all the fuss is about. Expensive to go in, and dog's aren't allowed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bili-bo_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed the night with a few friends at this amazing place. Really was just looking for a place to stay so that we could visit the Rock of Cashel the next day. WOW! This place is beautiful. Everything seemed new, our room was way more than we expected. The staff was really nice, and woke up to the view of one of the most famous castles in Ireland. Really have no complaints about this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This very family friendly place is situated directly between the two main tourist attractions of Cashel, so they are easily reachable in walking distance. The O'Briens are very nice people as well. Continental breakfast was great. Very nice common room with open fireplace to warm and dry your feet - if you can keep off the toddler. ;-) Rooms and baths are good hotel level, elegant design.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JochenBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was the first location we stayed when we arrived in Ireland. Perfectly located at the bottom of the Rock of Cashel. Our host Tom was exceedingly friendly and welcoming, full of information about the area. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. We stayed two nights and will definitely stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tk7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was by far the biggest room we stayed in during our trip in Ireland. A great location, very quiet with a beautiful view. The lodge downstairs common room has a full kitchen with all the dishes and cooking utensils needed, and the fire burning in the fire place made us feel at home. The lodge may be a converted barn but everything inside is new and spotlessly clean. This is a great place for a family or a couple

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKCBammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Cashel Lodge was situated in the perfect place.! With the Rock of Cashel on one side and The Hoare Abbey on the other side. At the Lodge there was plenty of room for tents. We ended up staying inside the Lodge for the night. The rooms were reasonably priced €75 for the three of us to stay in a triple room. The room was lovely and clean. Heating was on and was plenty warm. We had full use of the Kitchen which was fully equipped. It had a dining table and chairs, sofa, armchair and Tv. There was also a computer in the hallway that was free to use, or you could connect to the Wi-Fi. The outside of the Lodge was very well kept and tidy. With Picnic benches available to use. The people who own the Lodge are friendly and happy to help. Over all a lovely place to stay, good price and fantastic location, Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
633 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#2 of 16 in Cashel
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cashel Holiday Hostel
Cashel Holiday Hostel
#2 of 3 in Cashel
99 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Briens Cashel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Briens Cashel Lodge

Address: Camus Road | St. Patricks Rock, Cashel, Ireland (Formerly O'Briens Holiday Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cashel
Price Range: $80 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Briens Cashel Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Briens Cashel Lodge Is a family run guest house situated within easy walking distane of the ROck of Cashel ,Hoare Abbey and the town of Cashel.We have had three different names ( obriens farm house hostel. Holiday Lodge) as we have developed over the last 25 Years . O'Brien's Cashel lodge is the name we have settled on , it covers the many options that we give our guests , Bed and Breakfast ,Self catering or caravan and camping.There is private parking and WiFi for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your O'Briens Cashel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing