We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Rock of Cashel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient to Rock of Cashel”
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Located at the foot of the Rock of Cashel, this place has a great view of the ruins of Hore Abbey across the street. The bed was among the most comfortable on my trip. I got a private room, which was very clean and new with beautiful wood floors. The only annoying thing was, when I asked for directions to a pay phone, because I didn't want to wander around town looking for one, I was told that everyone has cell phones now so the lodge doesn't have one.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litespeed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
65
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Rarely do I say a hostel qualifies as "beautiful" but O'Briens (now known as Cashel Lodge) deserves that description. The owners have clearly put a lot of time and love into fixing up this building. They seem to want to cater to many different types of travelers, so the hostel includes private rooms (at the far end and away from the dorm rooms) and as well as dorm beds. There's a spotless kitchen connected to a nice common room that had a blazing fire the night we stayed. That was a plus because our trip to the Rock of Cashel was COLD and WINDY!

It was also a fabulous deal. We found Ireland outrageously expensive ($7 for a pint!), but Cashel Lodge was only 75 euro for three people in a private room with bath. That was easily the cheapest accommodation we had in Ireland and it was much nicer than most.

What else? Lots of parking. Right next to the ruins of Hore Abbey. Picnic tables for sunny relaxation. Great views of the Rock of Cashel (which is directly across the street). Two-minute walk to Cashel's main street. Probably not a party hostel but a great place for anyone else (including my late 60s parents who loved it).

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Bargain Price, Neat Mix of Guests
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MJennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ribbitrbbt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

I found O'Brien's Holiday Lodge in a guidebook, and this is one time I am happy I followed their suggestion. The O'Brien's were LOVELY. I arrived alone by bus late at night, and even though the lodge is just a 5 minute walk from the center of town, they came to pick me up from the bus stop! I thought this was just over and above the call of duty.
I stayed in the 6-bed dorm, only paying 18 -euro, and was just amazed by how clean everything was. This was the first time in all my travels in hostels/bunkhouses/dorms that I did not feel the need to use my own travel sheet! The rooms are in a converted barn, with many of the interior walls still the original stonework. It was warm and cozy.
I HIGHLY recommend this lodge to everyone! I hope to return, again, myself.

  • Liked — The staff and beautiful setting
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all great
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ribbitrbbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Two of my daughters and I stayed at the "Cashel Lodge" in August. It was so sparkling clean and new looking that I thought it had been recently renovated. But in speaking to the owner, I found out that it had been done over a year before. Our triple room and bathroom were spotless. At €75/night for a triple room, it was also the lowest rate I paid for all of my lodgings in Ireland. A fully equipped and equally clean kitchen/living/dining room is available for use by guests. We walked to town and found 3 grocery stores open until at least 9 p.m. So breakfast, although not included in the room rate, was easy to obtain. Breakfast is available at the Lodge, for a charge. The Rock of Cashel is literally across the road and up the hill. We were there in 10-15 minutes on foot and didn't have the parking hassle or cost. Don't be confused by the Lodge's name. It was known as the O'Brien Holiday Lodge until a new hostel in town took a similar name. The new name is/will be Cashel Lodge. Use this web address for no mistakes [--] . This place was a gem of a find! My only regret is that I didn't plan to spend more than 1 night here. I won't make that mistake again. I'll be staying longer next time and exploring more of Tipperary County.

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation (cleanliness, amenities, safety, location for the price)
  • Disliked — Wasn't clear on where to go for check-in and check-out.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aggiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

My husband and I spent our first night in Ireland at O'Brien's Holiday Lodge. Our room was in a beautiful, restored stone building, and the attention to detail inside was evident in every crevice, starting with the gleaming hardwood floors. Our room had an exposed stone wall inside and a large, new bathroom with sparkling tiles and fixtures. Though firm, the bed was new, comfortable and clean - everything about the lodge was spotless, and from the grounds you have a spectacular view of Hore Abbey. In fact, it's probably less than a 5 minute walk from the Lodge to Hore Abbey. This property cannot be beat for the price - I believe we paid 60 euro for the room, which had a double bed and a twin bed. I'd highly recommend this facility for someone looking for a lovely place to stay.

  • Liked — Location and room decor
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxci623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2007

At O’Brien’s Farmhouse Lodge in Cashel we felt like family guests. Tom and Brid O’Brien went out of their way to make us feel at home. They did all our laundry so that we could continue our trip with some clean clothing and when I was too tired to join the rest of the family at the Cultural Centre Tom graciously went to town and brought me back a newspaper. Sometimes on vacation it is nice to put your feet up and enjoy the paper! The Farmhouse is conveniently located near Cashel Rock and next door to Hore Abbey. The grounds are peaceful, the rooms quaint, everything is spotless and the value can’t be beat!

  • Liked — The grounds were peaceful after a full day touring
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oregonians4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
0.4 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
11.7 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rockville House B&B
Rockville House B&B
#4 of 16 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aulber House
Aulber House
#2 of 16 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peggy O'Neills B&B
Peggy O'Neills B&B
#1 of 16 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tir Na Nog Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Briens Cashel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Briens Cashel Lodge

Property: O'Briens Cashel Lodge
Address: Camus Road | St. Patricks Rock, Cashel, Ireland (Formerly O'Briens Holiday Lodge)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O'Briens Cashel Lodge Is a family run guest house situated within easy walking distane of the ROck of Cashel ,Hoare Abbey and the town of Cashel.We have had three different names ( obriens farm house hostel. Holiday Lodge) as we have developed over the last 25 Years . O'Brien's Cashel lodge is the name we have settled on , it covers the many options that we give our guests , Bed and Breakfast ,Self catering or caravan and camping.There is private parking and WiFi for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your O'Briens Cashel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing