We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Rock of Cashel

Rock of Cashel
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.75*
and up
Kilkenny and Cashel Day Trip from Cork
More Info
$64.52*
and up
Blarney Castle and Cork Day Trip from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A majestic medieval fortress now in ruins: contains the Hall of Vicars and a 13th century cathedral.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

At Cashel, you will get some gorgeous views of the surrounding area as well as a guided tour of the rock of Cashel. The guide seemed very knowledgeable and Cashel is an important bit of history there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,599
    836
    263
    66
    24
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing place with good tour”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you like your Irish history, this is a must-visit place. The seat of the Kings of Munster before 1101 and the church after that date, the structures are from the middle ages. We got there just as a tour was starting and while the guide was very knowledgeable and did a good job waiting for the group to assemble at each stop, he lost us towards the end when he couldn't shake a woman asking some incredibly stupid questions about things that had already been explained. I truly wanted to jump in and rescue him, but I would have embarrassed my 11-year old son and husband to death. Instead, we struck out on our own to explore and didn't finish the tour, although I don't think we missed much. Currently, there is scaffolding in place for a conservation project which makes a photograph of the entire site challenging (go down along the wall on the back side behind the cemetary), but there are photo ops galore here. Sadly, the largest and most ornate Celtic cross was struck by lightning in 1979, but there are others that photograph beautifully against the rolling countryside in the background and if you're lucky as we were, a bright blue sky. The discovered paintings in the chapel and in the cathedral are very special if you are into history and/or art. After visiting the site, we cut through the Bishop's walk which takes you through a pasture and down into the lovely gardens of the Cashal Palace Hotel where there was no queue for the toilets and you can get a pint of Guiness.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sseaton68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wow! A highlight of our trip.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I wanted to see this place from the books that I had about Ireland. We stopped by on our way from Kilkenny to Kinsale and OMG, it was amazing! Just a beautiful old site. Don't forget to look down the hill at the old Abbey and if you have time, take a walk down to it. By the way, all State owned sites in Ireland have free entry on the 1st Wednesday of each month. Nice to know.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank outdoorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic Landmark”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Rock of Cashel is located in a very beautiful part of Ireland and although it has restoration work going on (i.e., expect scaffolding there) it still was a great experience. There is some really beautiful architecture and the ruins are surrounded by vast, picturesque fields full of cattle, horses and sheep. Apart from the wind, which can get very strong up there, it is a very quiet and peaceful place. (Well, we went off-season in May - in summer it gets more crowded.)

The staff are friendly and easy to talk with. The entrance fee is 6€ for Adults, 2€ for children, groups and seniors are 4€. Sadly we did not have time to do the 45min guided tour, but if the guides are anything like the ones who work at Ross castle or Muckross House (all sites are owned by the same organisation, Heritage Ireland) then it would definetly be worth it.

If you do go during the summer months and you want to do the tour, max number is 50 people per tour - might be useful to book in advance if you go in the summer.
Also, make sure to watch the movie. It gives some good insight into the historical background of the site.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Standing like a rock”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Rock of Cashel is an Irish fortress standing on the top of hill. The ruin has the most preserved round towel in Ireland. The guided tour has a very interesting detail about the building and history. Rock of Cashel is over look a beautiful country side. Although scaffold covered part of the structure, you can still take very nice photos for the towel and most of the site.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny201110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock of Cashel also viewed

County Tipperary, Province of Munster
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cahir, County Tipperary
 

Been to Rock of Cashel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing