We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCarthy's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McCarthy's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Clonmel B&B and Inns
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Robie
we were met by Robin and Debby on our arrival at midday friday, 17 of us 13 adults 2 children 2 infants shown to our rooms which were excellent beds were very comfy, the breakfast was enough to keep you going for the day the town was only a short walk

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
3
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I had a brilliant stay and the owners Robin & Debby were very gracious & welcoming. They were ready to help & were very friendly and the accommodation was very suitable for me and my 2 dogs.
Thank you & see you again next year
Susan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Popsypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

McCarthy's B&B consists of 2 historic buildings merged into one, and has large, spacious rooms, great views of the historic city, and warm, welcoming proprietors. The rooms were rather luxurious, and the beds were very snuggly and comfortable. The hostess and her husband were warm and welcoming, and ready with good suggestions for dining out. The only drawback to this place was the breakfast - stick to the continental spread, and leave the cooked food and fruit (it was very unripe) for someone with no taste buds. Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkirlGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

I arrived late at night after travelling (train, boat,bus) from Cardiff. I was very tired and was shown to my room, a little quickly, I thought. Favourite TV show, maybe. The room was bright and cheerful. Made me feel better immediately. Great bed. Slept really well.
Breakfast! Outstanding! Juice, selection of cereals, a number of options for main
breakfast. Couldn't ask for more. Was booked for three nights. Stayed four.
Probably best value for money for anywhere I've stayed.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaydub6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

This delightful B&B was recommended to us by friends who had stayed there previously. On a value for money basis it should get 10/10.

My better half tends not to like B&B's as they can feel as though you are staying in someone elses home with a need to vacate during the day. McCarthy's felt more like a well run Hotel, with friendly and effcient service and no requirement to vacate the room.

The room was extremely spacious, clean, with extremely comfortable beds (doubles). It had basic SKY TV and in room tea and coffee making facilities.

The breakfasts were lovely.

There are also rooms with a basic kitchen / microwave setup and it has parking space to the side of the hotel. Well recommended!

  • Liked — Value for money and quality of accomodation
  • Disliked — Honestly cannot think of anything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NW6_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
0.1 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.4 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cappoquin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McCarthy's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCarthy's Bed & Breakfast

Property: McCarthy's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1/2 College Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your McCarthy's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing