We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best days behind it”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hearn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hearn's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best days behind it”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

once a good solid middle order kind of place, with poorly washed glasses, gaffer tap on the torn sofa, sepulchral lighting and music bashing through the walls from its own nightclub, it's time for a remake/refit/rethink.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DYWMTRTODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    15
    16
    27
See reviews for
9
31
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just passing through Clonmel we decided to overnight and see the town. We chose Hearns as it was central with parking. The staff that we met were friendly and helpful but there it ends.The room was small and not very clean,cups stained etc.,window would not stay open on one of the hottest nights, had to prop open with coathanger. Being a Sunday night we did not expect to be woken at midnight by very loud garage style music from what was obviously a night club right under our window. This was not mentioned when we checked in and did not end until 1.30a.m.
The breakfast was o.k. as we only had something small although the milk was off(it was changed).
The one saving grace for us was that the shower worked well as it really was so hot.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clonmel hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want to 'party all night'. The website does advise there is a late bar and disco on Saturday night and this meant that it was impossible to sleep until after 2.30am. View over the car park is uninspiring and half of it is used by the revellers as a smoking area so we got the full effect of being with 100+ revellers without leaving our room. Facilities are very basic and not particularly clean. The owner allows guests to smoke inside the fire escape stairs so this is not the place for the health and safety conscious. On the plus side it's central and the staff, like those in most of Ireland, are very friendly

Room Tip: Go to another hotel unless you want an all night party in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LastTrain_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achill Island, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Place is dirty service is slack asked were could we get breakfast but waiter went off chattingg up the cleaner instead of assisting us room is like a prison cell can't see out the frosted windows but plain window in bathroom shower wouldn't wash melted butter off a spoonm STAY CLEAR!!!! Clonmel is lovely tho

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have used this hotel a number of times for business functions and they have been so helpful and kind the staff really do make the place. We stayed there overnight to break up our journey and the hotel rooms are fab and very reasonably priced. The breakfast in the morning was the best (I had stayed at a 4* hotel the night previous and it wasnt a patch on it !) the service was fantastic and nothing is ever too much bother. If your planning any business function and need rooms then use this place the staff couldnt be any nicer ! x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinJonesy_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose Hearn's Hotel becuase of it's great location, right in the town and the price for our stay. The other bonus was the fact that you really don't have to leave the Hotel, as just downstairs they host great gigs and comedy shows. A great laugh!

The room we booked was surprisingly bigger than we had thought and very comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable and we were very impressed with the breakfast. Was totally pleased with our stay that I'm surprised by previous reviews..
All in all, I would highly recommend it and will certainly be returning.The staff were second to none..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gangsterella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a great night at Reginald D Hunters comedy gig in O'Keeffes in April. Stayed in their hotel and it was cheap and cheerful. its a really fun spot for a night away with the girls. The hotel was perfect for us, rooms were lovely and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Already looking forward to our next trip down to Hearns!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinbublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Clonmel
102 reviews
73.4 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearn's Hotel

Property: Hearn's Hotel
Address: Parnell Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearn's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Clonmel, a town steeped in history, Hearn's Hotel is a family run hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The Hotel comprises of 26 newly renovated bedrooms and the lively Town Hall bar. Whether its looking for a base to visit south Tipperary or enjoy the nightlife of Clonmel, Hearn's hotel is the ideal place to stay.Adjacent to the hotel is O'Keeffe's late bar, a firm favourite in Tipperary with four bars, three DJs, two dance floors, a live music room and a huge beer garden. We hold live Trad music sessions every Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hearn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearns Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing