We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Black Hole of Clonmel”
Review of Hearn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hearn's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Manchester
1 review
“The Black Hole of Clonmel”
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I've stayed in some rather poor locations, but this one takes the biscuit. One is taken back in time to the dark days of the famine as thisplace resmbles a workhouse and two nights in a leper colony would provide a cleaner alternative.

After first being asked for cash up front upon check in by a receptionist who made Adolf Hitler look a reasonable chap, we were directed to our rooms. They contained furniture from the early stone age and beds which looked like they had been donated from the Mogadishu Hilton.

After the treat that was the room we ventured downstairs to the bar, which frankly smelt a bit funny. After a few ales to soften the blow, we headed up to rest and were treated to 4 hours of drum and bass and at one point thought i could see nightclub revellers from the disco downstairs raving in the corner of the room.

After a night of thumping beats, we headed down for breakfast, thinking it would be difficult for things to get any worse, the lardfest that was breakfast was served, and swiftly declined.

After requesting to be moved to a different room we were given another room which was slightly better than the original, but that is like comparing types of torture.

All in all, the worst place I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. I'm still having nightmares now.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leroyloverod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    16
    16
    28
See reviews for
9
32
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2008

I stayed there with a group of friends who were all in Clonmel for a few days. The hotel is in a class location right in the middle of the town. Found the staff helpful, they booked somewhere for us to eat both nights and were great for a heads up on where to go and see. Onsite there is a great bar that at the weekends is a hopping spot. The hotel itself is located in a landmark older building and as one would expect wont have the modern lay out of a new build but is still bang on. All in all we had a great stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandDuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2007

The hotel is a great party spot. It's central, inexpensive, just above the best bar in town and has a bar in the hotel. Great place for a group.

  • Liked — So central
  • Disliked — Needs a fresh new look
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GabyGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Centrally located, inexpensive (50 euros), bar and restaurant onsite and free parking.

Rooms are tired with carpets, curtains, mattress and bathrooms overdue refurbishment.

Suitable for students, backpackers and very low budget travellers.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Tired rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
1.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.2 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
73.4 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearn's Hotel

Property: Hearn's Hotel
Address: Parnell Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearn's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Clonmel, a town steeped in history, Hearn's Hotel is a family run hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The Hotel comprises of 26 newly renovated bedrooms and the lively Town Hall bar. Whether its looking for a base to visit south Tipperary or enjoy the nightlife of Clonmel, Hearn's hotel is the ideal place to stay.Adjacent to the hotel is O'Keeffe's late bar, a firm favourite in Tipperary with four bars, three DJs, two dance floors, a live music room and a huge beer garden. We hold live Trad music sessions every Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hearn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearns Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing