We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Good!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hearn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hearn's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Good!!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the worst place I have ever stayed. Staff very friendly and helpful but owners need to close the place and revamp quickly. Hall smells stale. Carpet is very tired. I was traveling with my work and was tired when I got to my room to find that I couldn't lock the door from inside or out. Kind staff member offered to change rooms. No hairdryer or remote for tv in room. Windows falling apart. I could go on, suffice to say I will not be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroanimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    15
    16
    27
See reviews for
9
31
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good old-fashioned, traditional hotel. Décor in the reception area was very traditional. Room was nicely laid out and quite spacious, as was the bathroom.

Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. Really felt I received personal service.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very disappointed on arrival! knew it wouldnt be great! However room was fine, bathroom needs heat and up dating. On the plus side its the quietest hotel we have ever slept in! Staff lovely and friendly. Took us 10 mins of knocking in the rain one night before they let us in. Place stinks of tobaco as they allow smoking on these premises! Only stay here if your not expecting too much!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonegalAvril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clonmel hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

There is a difference between old world charm and neglect. This hotel has been neglected. As long as the nightclub downstairs is busy, they dont care. The smell on the stairs and in the room was disgusting. The room was freezing and dark. On returning late that night the water had been shut off. The next morning it was back, but the shower was cold. The room was €70 for the night, this didnt include breakfast. I am not fussy when it comes to hotels but I at least expect running water and a hot shower. Pay an extra few quid and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starshapedshiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Love the hotel staff, extremely helpful & chatty! Only problem was that there was cold water in the shower the first night and the water was cut off completely the second night & didn't come back on in our room! Ended up getting access to one of the other guest rooms on the lower floor to use the bathroom, but the water in the shower was freezing here too!!! Had a great weekend at the comedy festival though and hanging out with the comedians in the bar afterwards. The breakfast was lovely too, juicy full irish! The hotel rooms are lovely and clean, bed very comfortable, just a pity about the water problems!
However, Annie did modify our bill as a gesture for this inconvenience! I would definitely stay here again and already looking forward to next years festival!

Room Tip: Nightclub in hotel so if you plan on an early night, book elsewhere... But hey, if you can't bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

a night at hearns is not for the faint hearted.the downstairs smelt of smoke and the bar was smelly so we went elsewhere to drink.the room was clean but cold and thebathroom step was broken.nobody seemed to care.no lift and steep stairs.restaurant was closed so no breakfast.we paid 60 euro for a double.rip off.should pay people to stay.nitemere

Room Tip: avoid hearns but clonmel worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Myself and my family were staying for one night. When we arrived we saw that they were working away in the lounge area re-doing the room, so the whole bottom smelled of strong varnish. We got our key and went up to the room, the only way I saw to get up to the rooms where staires, so if you were to have heavy luggage it will be a mission for you to get them up.
Once we got into the room the whole room looked nice but when you really look at it there were stains and holes on the wall. The bathroom seat was broken aswell as the shower head along with the paint peeling and the pipes leaking. But worse of all, one of the bed was a really cheap standard and not the same as the others with a really poor hard matress, which
had food on it under the sheets and when you look out your window there was rubbish and beer cans thrown outside on the balcony which was our view. But we kept saying to ourselves it was only for the night so went out into the town of clonmel to enjoy which we certainly did!!! When we got back to get ready for dinner the room was roasting hot, that you could see water dripping of the walls. We tried to turn off the radiators which are all rotting old types with chipped paint. After dinner we returned to the room and it was still as roasting hot and we couldnt leave our windows open all night as anyone can easily get in. The music started around 10pm and didnt end till 2am. It was unbearable with the loud noise and the heat in the bedroom, I was so tempted to leave the place. None of us fell asleep till 3 in the morning. Overall I do find the hotel building inself very poor quality, But I did think the staff themselves are very nice along with the breakfast being delicious.

Room Tip: Be prepared for the loud noise of the Bar/Club downstaires.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrypop222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Clonmel
102 reviews
73.4 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hearn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearn's Hotel

Property: Hearn's Hotel
Address: Parnell Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hearn's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Clonmel, a town steeped in history, Hearn's Hotel is a family run hotel with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The Hotel comprises of 26 newly renovated bedrooms and the lively Town Hall bar. Whether its looking for a base to visit south Tipperary or enjoy the nightlife of Clonmel, Hearn's hotel is the ideal place to stay.Adjacent to the hotel is O'Keeffe's late bar, a firm favourite in Tipperary with four bars, three DJs, two dance floors, a live music room and a huge beer garden. We hold live Trad music sessions every Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hearn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hearns Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing