We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star hotel??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Reviewed October 10, 2009

From Marian and Joe, Dublin. Arrived at 8.30pm, travelling from Dublin, over 3 hours on the road. Put bags in room, (320) noticed that double bed was a very small bed, wardrobe a single size, barely room for perhaps 3 hangars, as it was also fitted inside with a small chest of drawers on top of which was the tray for making tea!! Yes --IN the small wardrobe!! Our immediate impression was that it must be a single room. In hindsight should have asked for a different room there and then, but as we were hungry we went to the Lounge in search of Bar Food. Spagetti Bolonaise / Homemade Burger and chips 18 euro???
Very very expensive!! Went to dining room instead and had a main course each, 25 euro for steak , 18 for salmon, very nice and service excellent.
Went back to room at midnight, rang reception to ask for a different room --surely this can't be a double room? 95 euro on a Thursday in Clonmel is not cheap. The night porter answered --there is NOT 24 hour reception at the hotel!! Nobody to take our complaint/request to find us a bigger room. I hasten to add that my husband and i are small people, and average build. Larger people would not have been able to fit into this bed. No joy with the night porter, a very polite man. I asked to speak to the manager and i was told that he would be on duty at 8am in the morning. We were astounded.
What if there was an emergency? The hotel was quite full, we discovered at breakfast next morning. A bit scarey really. We had a very uncomfortable night --afraid to move in case we would fall out over the side of the bed!!
This is a Brennan Hotel, we have stayed in their sister Hotel, The Bettystown Court many times -- always a large room with a big comfortable bed and excellent, in every respect. No comparison. We will NOT be returning.....get your act together !!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 664 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

Ok - the good bits - nice hotel, modern surroundings and nice bar with nice bar food etc, room presentation, clenliness etc good - on the other hand though slept a total of approx 3 hours over 2 nights (and trust me this was not by choice) - very noisy rooms (and we were on the thrid floor with the noise eminating from the ground floor) - no temperature control, boiling hot both nights - no wi-fi in the rooms despite broadband being advertised, some lame excuse about being on to Eircom for the past few months (months!!) to try and get it fixed, literature said broadband cables available from reception and again not working - food in restaurant quite plain but have to say portions quite large

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmet_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of August.
I thought the hotel was quite modern upon entering the lobby but the room and en-suite decor were a huge disappointment. The girl on check in was not overly polite but maybe she'd just had a long day.
We dined in the hotel on the first night, the food was average, nothing special at all. Service was good though.
Breakfast the next morning was fine, not a great selection of items if you weren't having a hot breakfast and it took a long while to get tea/coffee, I noticed a man behind us had actually finished his hot food before the waitress asked him if would like tea and toast...
We ordered room service on the second night, it was adequate... Dont expect top notch food.....
I used the gym on one of the days and I found it to be well equipped, clean and the staff very helpful.
I will sum up what we found to be the problem with this hotel:
The room temperature was an issue on both nights, it wasn't particularly warm outside but the temperature was so uncomfortable overnight. My husband didn't sleep well on either night. There is no air conditioning and the window does not open in order for you to regulate the temperature at all.
The walls must be paper thin, we could clearly hear the conversation of the couple next door to us and so we spent most of the time whispering.
There was a poor selection of television channels, and last but not least there was no WiFi connection or any access to the internet in our room (even though a previous poster mentions a cable that you can get at the reception).
When we spoke to the girl at reception about it she gave us some story about storm damage and that 'The Provider' had not come to fix it as yet, and as a result there is only internet access in the lobby - however, looking back through reviews this seems to be the case since early in the year.
All in all this was quite a disappointing four star hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lightie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Lovely hotel, extremely warm, no air con very uncomfortable. Bar staff was nice, but the resturant staff had no idea, glasses & cutlery missing, took 3 hours for 3 courses & we had to change our starters as they had run out !! manager was ignorant, the only up side is the food was tasty. Lucky the the resturant was only half full or we have been there till breakfast... As for the toilets both had a stink coming from them the both days we were there...wouldn't use this hotel again & wouldn't recommend it... Maybe they need to start looking at home before given advise

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
Thank NedMonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Very modern. Told that double rooms with breakfast were 55 euros but when reception realised there were two of us staying in the room the price became 55 euros per person so 110 euros in total. Rooms were adequate, clean and modern but there was no hairdryer, iron or air conditioning. When checking out were told that hairdryers and irons were only available upon request from reception but surely these are standard items when staying at such an expensive hotel.

Avoid room 122 as there is no view other than looking out over a metal roof.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapter420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

myself and my partner stayed here for a vintage car club weekend, venue brilliant for this event, rooms spotless and hotel staff absolutely top class, food was a terrible let down,
beef was dreadful the night of our dinner dance, and breakfast next morning left alot to be desired, a pity for such a new hotel, don't think it deserves the fourth star,

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinadf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

I've stayed here a number of times

The good:
The room is clean and modern, the breakfast is quite good too

The bad:
No wireless broadband, its 2009 dont you know. Single person B&B was €85 a little pricey i think

The Ugly:
The price of the bar food is very expensive, one steak sandwich was €18, more expensive than 4 pints of lager!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holeinthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
422 reviews
22.4 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
106 reviews
12.3 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa

Address: Cahir Road Roundabout, Clonmel E91 X0N7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range: $92 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel with a modern stylish feel. 99 bedrooms all with flat screen TV and duvets. Leisure centre with sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, indoor pool, gymnasium. Popular restaurant locally and lively bar with entertainment. Full spa now open. Free car parking. Excellent conference and banqueting facilities for up to 350. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clonmel Park Conference And Leisure Hotel
Clonmel Park Conference Leisure Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing