We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant atmostphere”
Review of Fennessy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fennessy's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brillant atmostphere”
Reviewed July 10, 2006

I stayed at Fennessy's hotel during the Junction festival that is on every July in Clonmel.The hotel is in excellent location just opposite St Peter and Pauls church near all the bars and cafes,i didnt even leave the hotel for 2 nights as the bar had such a lively atmosphere,I had a great conversation in irish with the owner Richie, If you want to learn a few words in the native language dont be afriad to ask him.My room was clean and comfortable excellent value for money, the staff fantastic and the Guiness even better.i'll be back!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank harry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
8
11
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2006

As a group,we stayed at Fennessy's hotel for the June weekend 2006.The Hotel itself held a good location in the heart of clonmel,close to shop's ,restaurants and Pub's etc.
Accomodation was adequate,ie Beds were clean.Bathrooms needed some attention and air extraction / air freshener's.Decor badly in need of refurbishment.Last refurbished in 1989.Staff friendly but stretched in their duties.Kitchen staff doubled as chamber maids.Not conducive to good practice.
Probably would not stay there again unless the Hotel got a face lift and some new carpets and fittings etc.
Weather was beautiful and clonmel was very friendly and welcoming to visitors.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Social Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clonmel hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 6, 2006

I booked a double room at the hotel last week...............I was meeting a friend and had looked forward to a relaxing evening in what was described as a beautiful hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The room was not the size of your average box room, the bedlinen was not changed the shower room was filthy and you could not fit two adults into the room standing comfortably!
When I complained I was told that this was a double room and they had nothing else available.................it was a disgrace 80 euro for this disastor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Be warmed while it is in a good location near to shops pubs ect....................I would not put my terrier in this room let alone humans

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 5, 2006

This is a particularly poor hotel....
the tiny double room €80 per night reaked of cigarette smoke, very loud errie noise coming from behind the wall of the en suite bathroom, im not sure if the noise from the street or the pub downstairs was louder

the pictures of the hotel that i had found on the web prompted me to book two nights there for a break... in reality the hotel looked nothing like the pictures

the hotel is really in very poor condition.... the one staff member that i met was rude and uninterested... when I explained my dissappointment at the poor repair of the room she said she couldn't offer to show me another room as it was not hotel policy... it was my tough look that i had pre paid the room.... another policy of the hotel... you must pre pay and there are no refunds

I assume this is because they regularly have guests like me who having spent ten minutes in the place want to leave

we had booked in for two nights ... and although we arrived late on a friday evening... we decided not to stay either night and left the hotel at 11.30 at night.... having been refused a refund or another room

ended up driving 40 mins south to waterford where we stayed in the very nice quality marina hotel

well worth the drive, rather than suffering another moment in the terrible Fennessys hotel

i really am not a choosy guy... this place is awful
Over priced, run down,
really no redeeming factors
avoid it

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

Visited Clonmel on spec for first time last week. Town has a surreal setting with a river and a mountain view at the end of the main street!

Fennessy's Hotel is on that street. Fabulous room for the price (€40 pp) with great view. Breakfast was HUGE in a lovely Victorian style room. Very friendly bar. Seems popular with the Clonmel locals. There is no disco/function room which is a big plus in my book.

I would go there again. It is very central - good shopping etc. at the door. It is comfortable and very well equipped. The owner (Richie?) is a great singer!

Helpful?
15 Thank MargaretMcManus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
0.2 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
397 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
105 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fennessy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fennessy's Hotel

Property: Fennessy's Hotel
Address: 32 Gladstone Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fennessy's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fennessy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fennessys Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing