We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are tiny, could do with a face lift - no parking facilities!”
Review of Fennessy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fennessy's Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for the May Bank Holiday weekend. Arrived and found they have no car park, we were to park in any of the 3 nearby supermarket car parks (which has to be paid for). Had to pay all upfront before given a key - I haven't experienced this anywhere I've ever stayed before. No lift, so we had to lug our bags up @4 flights of stairs before getting to the rooms.
The room was absolutely tiny, one locker on one side of the bed and the wardrobe was on the other! Additional pillows on the bed had to put on top of the wardrobe as there was no where else to put them and I used the window ledge as a shelf as the small dressing table was taken up with the tea/coffee facilities. Only one person could "shimmy" around the bottom of the bed and if you were on one side of the bed and the other person opened the bathroom door, one person had to move out of the way. On talking to other couples staying there, they mentioned similar issues.
The bathroom was like it had been only put in as an addition so took away from the space in the room. If I'd been charged the full price, I would have thought it was definitely overpriced for what it was. On the plus side, the bed was VERY comfortable and I slept quite well!

The breakfast next morning I have to say was lovely, the breakfast room was nicely laid out, very homely and more like a B&B than a hotel. The woman serving breakfast was also lovely, couldn't do enough for us and offered us refills on tea, coffee and food. Couldn't fault the food either.
Bar staff were also very helpful, We left our room key in and they rang us to say they were closing the front door and to ring them when we were on the way back.

Overall, the place could do with a face lift, it is quite dated and things are worn, but the service and the food is very good and it is right in the heart of the city, so you are very close to all the shops in the town.

Room Tip: none - as far as I know from talking to friends staying, all the rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank morritraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had a really nice stay here not so long ago. It's definitely not the Hilton, but the room was clean and spacious with tea/coffee and the breakfasts were simple but nice. There's probably nicer places to stay, but if you're on a budget (like we were!) then I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in Fennessy’s Hotel recently for one week and had a very pleasant experience indeed.The staff were more than friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it.Location in the centre of Clonmel could not be closer to all amenities and a short walk to bus and rail station.So we will be returning to the lovely town of Clonmel and the homely atmosphere of Fennessy’s Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Worst experience of any Irish accommodation. Loud disco music booming up through 3 floors till midnight for 2 consecutive nights. Public use the bar from 10 am. Onwards! Refused to give room keys on a our booking unless we paid in full ..we arrived 11pm on a night with no disco! Didn't clean rooms every day. Manager could not be found for complaint. NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN. WANT MY MONEY BACK!

Room Tip: Book other accommodation in the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrFennessy, Owner at Fennessy's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Anne-Marie C

Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback. This is very important to us as it allows us to gauge customer satisfaction and take action if required. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay.
I am assuming that you stayed over the August Bank Holiday weekend as you mentioned there was music in the bar on consecutive nights. On this weekend we had a 60th birthday party for a regular customer on the Saturday night. Many of the party crowd were also in attendance on the Sunday night. As there was a high percentage of elderly people in attendance on both nights I have been told that music was age appropriate and not excessively loud. Also trading hours in the bar on both nights is until 12:30 so I don't consider music until midnight as being unreasonable.
As regards your complaint about rooms not cleaned, all rooms are serviced daily unless requested otherwise by the occupants. In this case, fresh towels, toiletries etc would be left in the rooms.
Finally to address your last point about the manager not being present. In Clonmel on each August Bank Holiday Monday there is an old tradition of walking up the mountain to attend Mass at the Holy Year Cross. My wife and I have been attending this annual Mass since we were children and , health permitting hope to keep up the tradition for years to come.

Yours truly,
Richard Fennessy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Fennessy's Hotel for the third year running in 2012. It goes without saying that we would NOT have returned had we not enjoyed our stay. The hotel is excellent, the rooms are spotlessly clean and provide tea/coffee making facilities, sky t.v. hairdryer etc. Daily room/bathroom tidying etc. make it a pleasure to return at the end of each day, and 'mine hosts' Esther and Richard, and all their staff, are just the most delightful people, who cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasure. The friendly locals and the evening entertainments are the icing on the cake. We have already reserved our rooms for next year! Can't wait!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have a better view, facing the beautiful church over the road. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

me and my partner stayed in this hotel for a few days, i would not let a dog sleep in this hotel!!! the kettle in the room was like it had not been cleaned for months dust on top you would be frightened to touch it. The rooms were like a box, shower hot and cold all the time very tempermental. Breakfast was buffet and was not fresh, eggs like rubber.
Noise level was crazy at night doors banging all night and all morning.
so to finish off my review i recommend never to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pollykerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This hotel is in a perfect location right in the centre of clonmel rooms very clean and super breakfast.. very helpful staff and great entertainment in the bar.. 10 out of 10... john and louise canada..

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
1.5 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.1 mi away
Mulcahy's Clonmel
Mulcahy's Clonmel
#5 of 6 in Clonmel
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
428 reviews
13.8 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
9.5 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fennessy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fennessy's Hotel

Address: 32 Gladstone Street, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range: $79 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fennessy's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fennessy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fennessys Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing