We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Chowder”

Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sean Tierney's award-winning Bar and Restaurant in Clonmel, Co. Tipperary, Ireland. Four-times winner of the best Munster pub, and voted fourteen times winner of Tipperary Pub of the Year. We have a wide selection of Irish and international beers, cocktails, wines and spirits, including a number of local Irish craft beers.Tierney's Bar and Restaurant is located at 13 O'Connell Street, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary. Food is served from 12.30 p.m. 'till late, with lunches, evening meals, food-to-go and party menus available. Also, a special lunch menu is available on Sundays.Tierney's is a family owned and operated bar, located in the center of Clonmel, Co. Tipperary. Since 1991 Seán Tierney has been running his bar and restaurant, providing quality food and drink to the people of South Tipperary and North Waterford. Clonmel itself is home to vibrant cultural life, including the annual Clonmel Junction Festival, as well as hosting the premier traditional Irish music festival, the Fleadh Ceoil na hÉireann, five times in the past two decades.Tierney's bar sits on the site of the previous Phelan's pub, and like its predecessor, Tierney's is the haunt of many sportsmen from all over Tipperary. As well as providing a large selection of quality Irish craft beers and locally-produced cuisine, the bar offers a venue for many watching many sporting events from home and abroad, including rugby, football, horse-racing and Gaelic games
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Literally this restaurant had the best chowder I've ever had outside of the US. It stands with any New England chowder. The service was excellent and extremely accommodating for our large group with no notice. I could not recommend it any more strongly.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 137jayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierneysClonmel, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the recommendation. We really appreciate it. We are very proud of our chowder. We get lots of compliments on it and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the clonakilty chicken which was great - generous portions and tasty. Our servicer was attentive and thoughtful, and always on point with a new Guinness for a man under pressure. Peaceful and quiet trad music flowed creating that great Irish country atmosphere. Clean and presentable space. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 603bethn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierneysClonmel, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to hear that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and music of our bar. We really appreciate the recommendation. We hope that you will ball back into us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in Clonmel on our way to Kilkenny from Cork. It’s a great town and Sean Tierney’s was a fantastic lunch spot. We highly recommend this Pub!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank amberwO2230ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierneysClonmel, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for recommending us. We really appreciate it. Great to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous pub. You could spend a day admiring the decor. Food and drink top class. Sean was a most charming host. We will return for sure.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierneysClonmel, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great you hear that you will be returning to us. That you so much for taking the time to place a review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to us so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice place, the owner served us himself. Very accomodating! The food was great as well. Sean came by multiple times asking if we wanted more sides.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Andreas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierneysClonmel, Owner at Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to place a review with us we really appreciate it. Great to here you enjoyed your visit to us so much and that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you call back again soon to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Clonmel, County Tipperary
Clonmel, County Tipperary
 
Clonmel, County Tipperary
 

Been to Sean Tierney's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing