We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trully brilliant hotel...stayed there in December as my husband had his work xmas party there...omg d rooms were fab.”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Bedrooms were brilliant...food brilliant...service brilliant...reception brilliant...pity there isnt more hotels like this in Ireland....really enjoyed our stay...and we will b back loved it..my husband had his work xmas party in this hotel and the food abd music was fantastic...it has a lovely setting and lovely views...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Josephine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 425 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived at Hotel Minella last Sunday 2pm.my husband and I with our daughter and partner and our 10 week old granddaughter.We were met by a lovely member of staff and offered dining room,bar or a quiet room seen as we had baby.We decided on quiet room,it had lovely fireplace and fire and lovely lighting.so comfortable.We had 4course lunch and it was brilliant,service and quality,no rush and great service,The same member of staff who showed us in kept checking were we ok,without overdoing it,he was so caring,spoke about baby,and he had 18month old himself.We didn't leave until after 5pm.We could have stayed all day.It was so relaxing and a lovely way to spend quality time and end our Christmas.I honestly give this Hotel 101 per cent.

Room Tip: This is a country setting in town,scenery and ambiance of this Hotel is second to none.Ive had after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank CahirJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here with my wife, daughter, and niece because we could not get a room in Kilkenny where we were going to see Bruce Springsteen. It was about 45 minutes away, but a bus picked us up right in front of the hotel to take us to Kilkenny. The incredible Springsteen show aside, this hotel was great. Hot tea or coffee when you checked in. Wonderful location near the Rock of Cashel and great jumping off point for southern or western Ireland. The hotel grounds are beautiful. Service is first rate. Food and bar service very good. We didn't eat at the multi-course dinner restaurant as it seemed to expensive and beyond what we were looking for. We did not have time to use the gym or pool, but the facilities looked first rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMJVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We arrived in Clonmel early but called at the hotel on the off-chance that our room would be ready. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - we were told that our room was ready and weren't just given the key we were taken to our room by one of the extremely friendly ladies on Reception, who showed us where everything was in the room and offered us a complimentary tea or coffee. What terrific service. Our room was fantastic, with a huge bed which must be the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever stayed in. Fantastic bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, lovely soft towels and lots of toiletries. We couldn't have wished for anything else. Every member of staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was great too - lots of choice. We really didn't want to leave this place and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doncaster64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We found this an excellent base for exploring the local hills and tourist sights, while the spa provided an alternative for wet weather as well as relaxation after a hard day on the hills. It is situated on the edge of Clonmel overlooking the river a short 5 minute drive from the town centre. We would use it again if we return to this area. Definitely deserves a 4 star rating and close to a 5 star.

The hotel is based around an old house with the majority of the bedrooms in a modern extension. The main area contains a bar, spread over two rooms, a restaurant and a breakfast room, a TV room and ballroom as well as some conference rooms. The bar had a varied menu, including light snacks, main courses and desserts. We had our main meal here the first night and the quality was fine and service rapid, in large part owing to the speed of movement of the friendly staff!

The restaurant served a set price menu which was excellent value albeit a limited though varied menu. The service was efficient and speedy and the staff very friendly. The breakfast room is separate and airy. The first morning we had a very nice bespoke breakfast cooked for us. Subsequently there was a breakfast servery, providing an average quality substantial breakfast.

The leisure facilities were excellent. It has a large swimming pool with sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and outside hot tub. Towels, swimming hat and pool shoes are provided. The swimming pool had one lane marked off for serious swimmers and it is of irregular shape with a couple of inlets and bridge so would amuse children for a morning. The large gym contained a wide range of modern equipment, with many such as treadmills and cross trainers in a good number. The aerobics room was being used for a spinning class which was well attended. Spa treatments are available, but were not used by us. The tennis court was being used with flood lighting. The Leisure Centre is also open to non-residents, but as it is physically separate from the main hotel although busy this did not impinge upon the peacefulness of the main hotel.

We were upgraded to a suite, which comprised two separate areas - a bedroom area and a sitting area. The bed was super King sized with views over the river and town with a medium sized TV, arm chairs, wardrobe and dressing table. There was a small outside balcony with a table and two chairs.

The sitting area contained a large TV, L shaped sofa, a desk and chair with overhead lamp light and (free) Ethernet internet connectivity - free wireless connectivity is also provided. There was fridge, tea making facilities and room safe and other furniture. Numerous power points are available, including a number for European two pin connectors. There is a small study area within the sitting area.

The very large bathroom has a large shower cabinet and a Jacuzzi bath. A plentiful supply of towels and toiletries were provided.

There were a few niggles. The lack of overhead ceiling lighting (except in the bathroom) was not entirely compensated by the many side lights and there was no bright light close enough to a mirror suitable for make-up application - though there was a number of mirrors with overhead light - nor a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Our towel rail did not work throughout our stay - various reasons given for it not working - but we were offered the use of their laundry to dry any wet clothing. The TV has a very limited range of channels.

We found this an excellent base for tourist activities. There are some well marked walking routes in the local mountains and forests and a variety of other tourist attractions such as the nearby Cahir Castle. The leisure centre would have kept us suitably amused had the weather been bad. Definitely recommended.

The staff were all friendly and helpful (standfast the towel rail!), the reception staff were efficient though the bar staff could have done with an extra person, though we think that they were short one person due to illness. All in all though a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped recently for bar food while passing through Clonmel. Directed to small quiet bar. Staff friendly and service prompt. Food ordered was fine. Nothing too exciting. Perhaps, bigger portions and some enthusiasm with regard to presentation would go a long way.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Gastronomy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed there with 2 friends to celebrate a birthday, got a friendly welcome and the offer of a cup of tea to my room when i checked in. Rooms where clean and well maintained, however I found it very hot during the night and we couldnt open the window., must be my time of age, ;-). We went to the Leisure Centre and chilled in the outdoor Tub, all we needed was the glass of wine!. Deceided that we would have dinner that evening in the hotel, why go to the hastle of going into town, and we where delighted with the choice on the Menu, and the waitress was so friendly and helpful. They surprised my friend with a home made birthday cake and some champagne and wine, we were treated like queens for the night.
I have no problem in recommending this hotel and would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
115 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
405 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
0.7 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range: $181 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing