We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of restaurant only”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Review of restaurant only”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Being a native of clonmel I didn't stay in this hotel but we celebrated my parents 60th wedding anniversary there recently with a fantastic meal. The staffs attention to us was fabulous but non intrusive. the food was wonderful with plenty of choice. the hotel even hade anniversary balloons on the table and a gift for mam and dad. well done John keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jesolodublin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    97
    33
    16
    17
See reviews for
116
105
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

On arriving to hotel Minella we were delighted thinking we would have a lovely stay in a swish hotel. we got to our room only to discover there was dead blue bottles all along the window and balcony door. we did get the room cleaned while we went for dinner but when we turned on our air conditioning more alive blue bottles appeared everywhere. we were up half the night swatting them. i was disgusted that they could charge €140 per night and not even clean the room before we got there. also the next day we copped alot of attitude from a man working at the hotel about bringing a bottle of wine into our room. we are not unruly and made no noise but this man insisted on being as rude and arrogant as possible to us. i was under the impression that if you are staying in a hotel its nobodys business what you do in your room. we will never stay there again nor will any of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Grainne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had my wedding reception in Minella and I couldn't speak more highly of John and his wife. They made our day all the more special by the homely down to earth service they provided. The food was fantastic and there were no shortages. At all times during the meal the staff walked around asking if our guests wanted more veg,meat etc.. They were engaging,polite and respectful. The grounds were fabulous and perfect for photographs. I would recommend hotel Minella to anyone who is looking for a wonderful setting,wonderful staff and most importantly as a place you will remember that contributed to your special day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have just returned from a two night stay at Minella.This was our third visit to Clonmel,as its only one and a half hour drive from Wexford,and is a pretty town.It has been about two years since we last stayed in Minella and i wondered if standards would still be the same.I need not of worried as hotel is still run very very well,excellant staff and welcome very warm.Had dinner one night in hotel as part of package,food still great,and lovely cosy dining room,with attentive staff.Having worked in the hotel business my self many years ago,i always find that family run hotels like the Minella offer a much warmer welcome in general.Well done Minella,keep up the good work.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The rooms at the Minella were the largest I have ever had touring Europe - they were airy and spacious, and the views from the balcony were stunning. The resturant had a good range of meals and wine - a intimate atmosphere - and the breakfasts were of a high standard, indeed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a holiday to unwind, and will certainly be returning. I was impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very quite hotel in a large park like setting. The rooms are very nicely furnished and an suite.The bathrooms where spotles.
It is a good base for walking and hiking. The staff is very efficient and multi lingual. Elizabeth the owner is very helpful in all aspects of tourisem. We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant.
the meals where exceptional and the wine selection outstanding for a Irish hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are equaly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ungerhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland - Newbridge
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent a relaxing weekend, family of 5 with 3 teenagers. Nice bedrooms and ambience. Breakfast was excellent. Leisure centre is excellent. They also have holiday cottages with access to leisure centre. Would recommend it as a relaxing hotel, from the front of the hotel you can see cows in the field and from the back the River Suir. We had dinner in the weekend room rate and it was good. The hotel is walkable to Clonmel and we went for a walk into town and it was really nice to take in the river. The value was unbeatable, such a peaceful location, unlike most hotels I stay in for business or pleasure ( are there have been loads ) not often i say this, but we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank great_golf_weather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Clonmel
102 reviews
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Property: Hotel Minella
Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing