We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Most relaxing Hotel in the world"”
Review of Hotel Minella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Minella
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
“"Most relaxing Hotel in the world"”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have travelled world wide over the last 16 years and stayed in some very impressive 5 star hotels, and I can genuinely say that Hotel Minella is the best of all. I have stayed with and without my family(hubby & 3 kids) and each stay has proved to be extremely relaxing and enjoyable. Extremely clean, comfortable(amazing beds and beautiful sheets), complementary water and fruit, leisure facilities fab, gym & great beautician. Staff are very helpful, do people really want to be annoyed when on a break? Just ask if you want something and you get it. Owners in my opinion are just perfect, the lady is so kind and welcoming and the gentleman John, in my opinion is spot on, he'll chat when you want to and stays quiet when he sees that you don't want to be disturbed, but is very accommodating and he was always great with the kids on local trip advice etc. You'd be mad not to stay here just don't tell anyone else as I don't want my little bit of heaven ruined!

Room Tip: Just tell them you want a nice room please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atir37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    97
    34
    16
    17
See reviews for
119
105
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southwales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

just back from the National Coursing Festival having stayed 3 nights, and our stay was most comfortable and welcoming by the owners, who provided a daily complimentary afternoon tea buffet and the free hot whiskies and port most welcoming after a days coursing. Well done to the Nallens, will be back deffo wish we could have stayed longer so so enjoyed , thank you so much.






Back in May with the family for a weekend break........

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walesquods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Cork
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have never stayed overnight here in he hotel but I have been to several functions here, weddings, confirmations, general parties and have always found the food to be very very nice, never had bad food here. I am from Clonmel and it is well known that the owner here is not very pleasant and it does put some people off but with a very small amount of hotels in the town, some people tend to use it anyway. The owner only seems to make small talk and be more pleasant if he knows of you or your family.
As I said, I have never had a bad experience here but also I have not stayed here so cannot comment on the facilities!
I will however come back here to visit for functions and some day I do want to try out the suite's in the new section of the building.

Room Tip: Try the food, I doubt you will be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totalamnesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Thank you John and Elizabeth and all the staff especially Josie at breakfast , Helen housekeeper and Helen in reception and Karl in the bar. Wonderfull hospality , rooms very comfortable best sleep in weeks pillow top mattress so comfy, great views of the river Suir no floods tg.My home away from home .... Home was never so good. Excellent value great service. lovely welcoming complimentary tea and minella fruit cake on arrival, what a treat... And complimentary in theses days .... Lovely Roast Duck in the bar with a glass of wine .Staff so friendly , and give me directions every time I get lost in Clonmel. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: King beds great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

In general I found this hotel to be worn and my room was not very clean.
The leisure centre also was not of a very good standard.

During my stay I brought a problem to the attention of staff, and spoke with a man who I believe was the owner of the hotel. This man was very rude and unprofessional in dealing with me and my problem.
I also found the food to be expensive and not very good.

I will not recommend this hotel, it is expensive, unprofessional and not worth the money.
The owner and staff need lessons in customer care.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RaineyDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hminella, Owner at Hotel Minella, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
RaineyDaz, Austria.
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post this review on tripadvisor.com.
There are some misleading comments in the review.
We challenge your UNVERRIFIED criticism.
We are under the opinion that this is a BOGUS review as no guest
of the description outlined stayed with us in Januray 2012
and voiced these opinions or brought problems to our staff
and owners.
We pride ourselves on our product , service and facilities and it is untrue to say that our hotel is worn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel is just 15 mins walk to the heart of Clonmel and it's situated close to the River Suir. The main building (reception and restaurant) is built in Georgian house. The food is ok, hotel's staff, well, some of them didn't apper to me be very happy and friendly, esps. the owner/manager of the hotel.

http://www.hotelminella.ie/

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the River Suir or Comeragh Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AnnaKurcinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
187 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

After reading the contradicting reviews on Tripadvisor, I didn't really know what to expect at this family owned hotel. See pictures for more clarity.

The hotel is situated in a rural area, overlooking the river on the rear; but the lovely town centre of Clonmel is only a 15-20 minute walk away.

As we drove into the grounds it was clear that the hotel would not win awards for architecture. The original country house had been extensively extended at various times over the years: 60's style large wedding / function rooms on one side, 80's style remote gym and pool in the grounds and finally a 2000 style five storey bedroom extension.

On entering the reception in the original house, which was either dated or full of character, depending on you few point; I asked, based on Tripadvisor recommendations, for a room in the new wing. I followed the labyrinth of corridors and lifts to my room. On entering I was more than pleasantly surprised. The suite had a large separate seating area with L shaped sofa and flat screen TV, plus small table and chairs, made more welcoming by small touches like artwork on the walls. Coffee making facilities were provided.

Outside the balcony overlooked the river and had a hot tub, it was covered and it looked like an ordeal to get it functioning (plus the weather was cold), but different if not very user friendly. It did however take over the otherwise usable balcony space.

My bathroom had a further jacuzzi bath and a TV built into the wall, which worked well if you wanted to make use of a relaxing bath. I just used the separate shower cubicle with its poor shower head, cheap temperature regulator and door which wouldn't latch closed, so I ended up having to put towels on the floor to soak up the excess water.

The bedroom was large, had a king size really comfy bed with crisp white sheets and lots of pillows, plus a fridge, safe and bath robes. My third TV was wall mounted. The room had full air-conditioning.

I ate in the restaurant. The food was excellent and service attentive and personal. The bar area was dated and not particularly inviting.

I did not have time to see the pool and gym and had to leave before breakfast, which was disappointing as I wanted to give a detailed and balanced review. Sorry.

In summary, the new wing offered excellent accommodation, but for me the emphasis was on hot tubs, jacuzzi baths with TV's and gimmicks, when I would of simply preferred a shower with a door that closed and a tap that let me regulate the temperature adequately.

The acid test: yes I would stay here again but can now understand why other reviews are so inconsistent, as its a place you either love or hate.

Finally, the service and welcome by all staff was fabulous and my experience totally differed from that of other reviewers which criticised the staff.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clonmel
2.3 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
0.5 mi away
Raheen House Hotel
Raheen House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hearn's Hotel
Hearn's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fennessy's Hotel
Fennessy's Hotel
#4 of 6 in Clonmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minella

Property: Hotel Minella
Address: Coleville Road, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Clonmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minella 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by the Nallen family since opening in 1962. The minella is situated on the banks of the river suir just 1/2 mile from clonmel town.A 5 million development has just been completed. Club Minella is the Health & fitness club with a 20 meter pool & outdoor hot tub overlooking the river. 4**** family owned and managed hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Minella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minella Hotel Clonmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing