We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 15 Dundalk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good value B&B”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here recently as we wrapped up our tour of Ireland. Primary purpose for staying here was to break up the driving from Belfast to Dublin. The owners are nice and friendly. The B&B was quiet, clean, and a great value compared to the many other B&B's we stayed in. Wi-fi worked in our room. Breakfast was the B&B standard and was delicious. No complaints. It is located just outside of town. Not much to do around the B&B which is good and helps to make it quiet. We drove into Dundalk. Not much to see there. We walked around for about 30 minutes or so and pretty much saw it all. Good place to stop for a night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tngl4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
31
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed in Fairlawns as I went on a cycling tour around the country. I shared a big en-suite twin room with my travelling partner. The B&B was excellent. We recieved a very warm welcome and breakfast in the morning was fantastic. We were also able to get great local knowledge about the sites and local restaurants from the proprietor. The location was also very convenient. I would highky recomend Fairlawns.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andydoyle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed here on the first night of a cycle trip around Ireland and Briege really set a high standard that the other places I would stay would have to try and meet. The welcome we recieved was great. Our room was spotlessly clean with a really powerful shower to help wash the days cycling away. There was also free wifi throughout the house. Breakfast in the morning was top notch and next time I cycle around Ireland, Ill be calling into Breige again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dec1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Breige accomodated our relatively late arrival(after 8PM). Her directions were clear, but new section of M1 was not in our GPS. Location is convenient for return trip to Dublin from Northern Ireland. Rooms-quiet. Wifi-available Shower-good water pressure. Parking lot- paved, close, & convenient. Excellent breakfast,more generous than other places we stayed & served in a light & airy room with large windows looking out onto a lovely lawn & garden . Breige appeared to have a genuine interest in her guests & was helpful with all the questions that we asked!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sldarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Fairlawns B&B was a random choice for a B&B after seeing Giant's Causeway in Northern Ireland and deciding where to spend the night on the way to Dublin. We were pleasantly surprised by everything at Fairlawns mostly because we had not heard of Dundalk but picked it based on location and the description in the B&B book for Ireland. Briege was so nice, My mom had explained that we were wanting to hear Irish music, so she called around, but found that no local place had Irish music that night. When we arrived, she called a local pub and said that our small party would be coming round for dinner. The restaurant, Clermont Arms, was also a lovely restaurant with great service and excellent food. Breakfast was amazing as well. It was a fantastic time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADixon115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
753 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This bed and breakfast establishment will give you first class five star service at a small price. The building is set in nice grounds, very well kept garden and off the road parking. Inside is very tastefully decorated and so clean you could eat your dinner off the floor. There is a nice lounge to meet in the evenings if you are in a group, we enjoyed playing cards and drinking wine in the evenings. There are no rules and signs so it is vey homely. The rooms are not huge but they have all you need and the beds are comfortable. The tea and coffee and shower gel gets refilled every day and there are ample mirrors, even a full length one for the ladies. The breakfast is fit for a queen, you will certainly not go hungry here. But what really makes this place special is the wonderful welcome you will get from the two hosts, who work very hard to ensure you have a fantastic stay. Nothing is too much trouble.............
If you do stay here then you must visit the castle for an evening meal, 4 courses for only 25 euro each person and it is a wonderful experience and you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank streakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights, the room was very clean and comfortable. Briege and Noel were excellent proprieters, very friendly, courteous and helpful. Lovely breakfast, lots to choose from, A great service. I will call again. 

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car_d30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundalk hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
9.1 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Little Haven B & B
Little Haven B & B
#2 of 15 in Dundalk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Krakow B&B
Krakow B&B
#3 of 15 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast
Address: Fairlawns Dublin Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing