We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for a second time in this hotel for a night and were not disappointed. The room rate was quiet competitive, the quality was very good and the rooms were very adequate. Newspapers were free! I would agree that breakfast rates which are separate from the room were far too pricey, although children are free, compared with very good quality local options which are a fraction of the price. We visited the park cafe in the nearby industrial park and had an 8 item breakfast with hot beverage and toast for €8. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeinsterTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 836 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here on a return trip from Belfast. Was disappointed with the overall experience. We went to the restaurant on the 13th floor for dinner after checking and we were lucky to be "fitted in" as we had no reservation even though it was half empty. A band was playing during our meal and while they were ok, it took from the meal as it was impossible to talk as they were so loud. Finally, the meal was completely over-priced for the quality (€35 pps).
The room itself while comfortable was too noisy and we were awoken several times during the night by shouting coming from a surrounding room. Breakfast was not included in the room price (!?) and was €12 for a continental and €16 for full-irish, again completely overpriced for the quality. Will look elsewhere in the future when in need of a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear cb0542059,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. I am deeply sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations especially the restaurant service, rates and outside noise. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. This helps in becoming a better hotel. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a lovely immaculate hotel. The rooms are spacious and very modern. The bathroom is big with a shower and bath,absolutely everything is pristine. The bed is large and very comfortable, no complaints about the hotel at all. The price is just a bit expensive for a hotel with no leisure facilities, with no breakfast, we paid €99 euro room only.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed in this Hotel at least 3 times and keep going back as we really like it, i find the rooms and staff both very good and the front desk is always very helpful. It is located about 1/2 way between Belfast and Dublin and is a great place to stop in for the night if you have just flown in to either city and are off sightseeing around Ireland. As i said in the title the breakfast is excellent and if its a nice day the view from there is very good because the restaurant is located on the top floor so make sure and get a window seat if you can as they are always in demand for this reason.

Room Tip: For a quiet night go for a room as high up as possible and on the side facing away from the main roa...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-M-Anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here a few months ago with my other half, we booked the one night romantic package. Room was on the 11th floor and was fantastic, very spacious and clean. Not long after arriving a member of staff knocked on the door with our bottle of prosecco in an ice bucket. The deal stated that chocolates were included, there were two small boxes on the table with room for two chocolates in each, but one box was torn and only had one chocolate. This was not a problem really and we actually laughed about it although odd.

We went for dinner that evening, which was in the bar as the roof top restaurant was not open, however this was explained to me at time of booking. Food was great and service very good.

The following morning we had breakfast delivered to our room. It was lovely, no complaints at all.
We checked out and stayed to have lunch and afew drinks in the bar. The bar was exceptionally busy at lunch and as my boyfriend and I had finished eating and were having drinks at this point, we gave up our table (which had been cleared) to two elderly ladies as there wasn't any others available. I went to the bar and explained this to the girl and said I would like to pay the bill and from then on we would sit at the bar. However this caused much confusion and took two servers and a manager 20 minutes to sort out.

All in all our stay was very enjoyable and I have been recommending it to friends and family since.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaitrionaNiBhriain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

When you first walk in to the lobby it is very uninspiring and atmosphereless. The reception staff though are truly lovely.

But what a surprise when I walked into the room. A very modern, clean and inviting room with all the amenities...even a towelling robe! The bathroom is modern, large, seperate shower and bath and spotless. The bed was very comfortable.

The down sides were the pillows...no choice and they were all like bricks!
The lighting in the bathroom was very poor...
The cold water was down to a dribble...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feedee61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Staff in this hotel are Excellent. We could not fault them in any way. The food was good, the only thing was the Breakfast price , 16 euro per person. a bit pricey. Lots to see and do in the area. The town of Dundalk has great chatacter and charm and it only a few minutes from the hotel. Also worth a visit is the cooley mountains . Only about 15 minutes drive. Take the carlingford road . You will get a great view of the mourne mountains across carlingford lough.

Room Tip: Always look for a room with a view of the sea.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
3.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
307 reviews
8.4 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
712 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
138 reviews
18.5 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,236 reviews
13.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk

Address: Inner Relief Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range: $100 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to Crowne Plaza Dundalk! The hotel is ideally located just off the M1, 45 minutes from Dublin Airport and 45 minutes from Belfast Airport. Exactly half way between Ireland s two largest cities: Dublin and Belfast. We offer 12 meeting rooms accommodating up to 400 people and rooms perfect for weddings parties and large conferences. Wireless internet access is offered in meeting rooms and hotel s lounge area and newly available in all bedrooms. High speed internet access is offered in all bedrooms free of charge. This four star fourteen storey hotel offers supremely comfortable accommodation, excellent service and great location. Our restaurant Fahrenheit Grill is located on the top floor offering breathtaking views of the Cooley Peninsula and the Irish Sea. You will be spoiled by the selection of meat and seafood that our Executive Head Chef, Sarah Fizelle, has prepared for you. Dundalk is a bustling town with excellent shopping and restaurant facilities. Lively night life and extensive leisure amenities, such as golf, hill walking, skating, swimming, kayaking and cycling within easy reach of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dundalk
Dundalk Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing