We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we switched to the GlenGat Guest House!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Gat Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen Gat Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 16 Dundalk B&B and Inns
ontheroadagn7
Level Contributor
532 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Glad we switched to the GlenGat Guest House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Where do I start on our stay at the GlenGat Guest House? I was traveling to Dundalk to visit friends around Christmas. We had originally booked a room at Crowne Plaza Hotel which is very nice from what I understand. Our main concern was that the CP was significantly out of town which would have meant less flexibility and many taxi fares. We were renting a car in Ireland later in the trip. The location is excellent - just a few minutes' walk from the center of town. That suited us well as we did some shopping and made several trips back and forth during our stay which would have been impossible or at least very expensive had we kept our plans to stay out of town.

Tim was quite helpful in booking our rooms. He also offered to pick us up as the bus service we were using to get to Dundalk (Matthews.ie) now drops off at the Marshes shopping centre. That was a big help. I am a fan of Irish music and Tim also suggested an excellent source of Irish music just up the street. It was called the Jockeys Pub. I was able to get my music fix while my wife and son turned into bed early on Saturday night.

As we were there around Christmas it was much nicer to stay somewhere that felt like a home rather than just another decorated hotel. The decorations for Christmas were great.

We also met Tim's daughter Helena and she was great about getting us pointed in the right direction when we were getting our bearings.

The breakfast each morning was perfect. Hot, good selection, good tasting and not rushed at all.

We learned about the story behind the GlenGat and the family's involvement with a re-enactment of the Tain. The event this past June had been filmed for TG4 (the Irish language television station) and was to be shown on the national network the day after we left Dundalk. We caught the show at our next stop and were delighted to see Tim, Helena and the GlenGat featured very prominently in the show.

Another convenient thing about the GlenGat was when it was time to take a different bus service (Bus Eireann) to the Dublin airport we just took a left out of the front of the GlenGat, walked one block and picked up the bus (not the main station stop, but an intermediate stop on the way out of town) just outside the McDonalds. The guest house is also very close to the train station (we took the train on a day trip to Belfast - a little over an hour's ride.)

This was my third trip to Dundalk and staying at the GlenGat made it the BEST of the three!

Room Tip: We needed a double room for ourselves and a single room for our son and they gave us 21 and 20 respe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    15
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
41
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this Guest house while doing a course in the area. Tim was very helpful with directions etc . Location excellent. No noise issues either.
Rooms were very comfortable
Overall couldn't recommend highly enough, I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We didn't know what to expect when we were going to Dundalk! We checked into Glen Gat House and we asked loads of questions about what to do in Dundalk, the surrounding areas and Dublin, as we were heading onto Dublin for the weekend. They were all very informative and thee most accommodating family we have ever met! Loved every aspect of Glen Gat, especially the decor :) Thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Everything about this accommodation is really fab the location is just perfect walking distance from everything including the train station yet a very quiet and tranquil atmosphere inside making the stay very relaxing. The service is nothing short of outstanding the staff just can not do enough to help make their guests feel incredibably welcome . Just a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mothermay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

the good
best nights sleep in dundalk
amazing beds
the owners are very friendly
5 mins walk from the town

the bad
none
......................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoose4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely family-run guest house. The house is beautiful, very clean and really homely. The owners are extremely helpful, friendly and very accommodating. Would recommend it to anybody looking for a place to stay in Dundalk.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were highly recommended Glen Gat House by the local pub, The Phoenix. Tim and Hellina were very helpful hosts and offered a affordable price at such short notice for 3 adults. We arrived at Glen Gat House and received a warm welcome by Tim. We had a very spacious family room with 1xSingle Bed, 2xDouble Beds and a large bathroom. The cooked Irish breakfast with tea and coffee is great. The B&B is within a 10min walk to the main town center for shopping and restaurants. We would like to personally thank Tim and Hellina for a enjoyable stay. Oh and don't forget to met Ruby, their dog.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_Dam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundalk hotels
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
7.3 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krakow B&B
Krakow B&B
#4 of 16 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lismar Guest House
Lismar Guest House
#13 of 16 in Dundalk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Gat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Gat Guesthouse

Property: Glen Gat Guesthouse
Address: 18/19 The Crescent, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Gat Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glen Gat Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing