We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B&B to come back to - 7 years later”

Greengates Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greengates Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 15 Dundalk B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I first stayed here with family in 2005 and so it was the first choice to return with my wife in 2012. Orla and family are so welcoming and friendly and their home is comfortable, well located and a pleasure to make a base for Newgrange, Slane and district. Do your self a favour, stay here - your home away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddyCoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Greengates Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I always use trip adviser before booking a hotel. This time I was looking to book for a party of 10. Family and friends from the USA and UK. I read the reports and must add they Did not do this little gem justice, great place excellent location only topped by Cillian and Orla who welcomed us with Tea and Coffee on arrival. Transported the older members of our party in to town, booked a restaurant for us and made us the greatest breakfast we ever had. For 10 members of any family to agree on anything is unusual but for all to give Greengates a 10 out of 10 is remarkable. My wife and I can't wait to go back for a longer stay soon.

Room Tip: The large rooms to the front of the house are excellent
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I moved to Ireland recently and had to stay at a hotel while we were settling in. After spending our first night in a less than than pleasant hotel, we were determined to drive around Dundalk and find something better for the rest of our stay. We wanted somewhere quiet so avoided places in the town centre and stumbled upon Blackrock. We went into Greengates Bed Breakfast and asked Orla about a room and we moved in immediately. We were starving because we couldn't have any food at the last hotel so Orla agreed to give us breakfast at 11 am. It was the best breakfast we had ever had! Everything about our stay was perfect. They were really kind, accommodating and helpful. We were truly sad to leave. I would definitely recommend this place for our visiting friends and family. Thank you Orla and Killian.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakura199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It was our first night in Ireland, we were very tired, not having slept on the flight over from Canada. Even though we were very early for check in, our hostess Orla made up our room in a pinch and we were asleep in our bed within 10 minutes! Lovely room, breakfast was really good, and the pot of coffee one of the best we had. Thanks for a lovely welcome to your country!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is a very well-run B&B.The room are tidy and clean, bed is comfortable, breakfast is good and with big portion.The owner is EXTREMELY nice. She came out to the car and helped us with our luggage to start off with. She was constantly very helpful and friendly. for the entire stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckylad1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It is a very well-run B&B. Though it is very small (only 3 rooms) and the hardware is not perfect, the owner run it very well. The room is tidy and clean, bed is comfortable, breakfast is good and with big portion. The owner is a couple, both very friendly and most helpful.

The location is rather inaccessible though, which maybe a few km from nearest town. For us there is no problem because we drive a car with GPS.

Overall we have a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_YY_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My brothers and I have stayed at Greengates on two or 3 occasions now and is undoubtedly a fantastic B&B. The rooms are spotlessly clean and beds very comfortable .The food is excellent and plenty of it.Nice friendly family who make you very welcome !

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dundalk hotels
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
4.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
307 reviews
3.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
#7 of 8 in Dundalk
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairlawns Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Keernaun Guesthouse
Keernaun Guesthouse
#7 of 15 in Dundalk
37 reviews
3.6 mi away
Krakow B&B
Krakow B&B
#3 of 15 in Dundalk
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greengates Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greengates Bed and Breakfast

Address: | Blackrock, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range: $72 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greengates Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greengates Bed & Breakfast is nestled on the edge of Blackrock, a large, friendly seaside village that boasts beautiful scenery, bars, beaches, restaurants, views and coffee shops. Our accommodation is modern, large and spacious with many local amenities, including the Fairways Hotel and Conference Centre, within walking distance. Our home is superbly located within easy driving distance from Dublin and Belfast Airports (40 minutes each approx.), so Greengates is your perfect first and last stop in the Eurozone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Greengates Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing