We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice average hotel, with good leisure centre and gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carrickdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrickdale Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice average hotel, with good leisure centre and gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is just off the motorway and was really easy to find. The check-in was nice and friendly and when our key card did not work it was replaced very quickly. Promising to come back with a second key card in a few minutes. This never happened but it was not an issue for us and we would have asked if we did need the second one. We were in the older part of the hotel which is a bit of a maze and really really hot. There was no lift close to our room so we have to drag a lot of bags up a small stairs.

We had arrived late and asked for two rooms next to each other. This was fine on booking, whe I phoned earlier in the day to re-confirm and to remind them of our late arrival we did not have two rooms next to each other but this was sorted out very quickly and was not an issue when we booked in.

The rooms were very hot so I straigh away turned down the heater (I did not realise until 3 am that I had in fact turned it on so work hotter than ever) A few hours with the window open sorted it all out but it did not do my carbon footprint any good.

The leisure centre was excellent.

The gardens were truely superb, botanic garden standard.

The breakfast was busy, there were loads of staff and yet we waited for an age to get served. It was impossible to catch anyones eye which was odd with the number of staff. When they finally realised we were not being served we got no apology.

Our room did not have wifi as we were in the old part of the hotel, so beware if you are a business traveler.

If you are looking for a hotel room with a view then don't stay in the rooms we had, there was no view at all.

All in all I would have no hesitation about staying here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no view and no wifi access so if these are important ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clamball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCdale, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed the food at the hotel, and apologise that you were waiting on your breakfast - I will speak to the restaurant manager with regards to this. In relation to your wifi, we do have some rooms that do not wifi in them, so any visitors reading this please request at the time of booking that wifi is required and we will ensure a suitable room is allocated to you.

I am delighted you would return to our hotel and look forward to seeing you in the future at the Carrickdale Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    182
    59
    25
    13
See reviews for
196
203
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

despite the new motorway the carrickdale is still easy to find .
excellent reasonable cavery every day great irish fare and loads of choices ideal surroundings and lovely hotel staff vey good and everything spotless
excellent stopover location
highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCdale, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed the Carvery Lunch at the hotel. We are easy located just off Junction 20 from the M1 motorway and have either carvery lunch available Monday - Sunday, Bar snacks available Mon - Saturday or our Carrick Restaurant which opens from 5.30 - 9.30pm daily, so there is always something available!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We got married at the Carrickdale and I have to say a massive thank you to all the staff for making our day so memorable.
Friends and Family have all commented on wedding, saying place was lovely, food was wonderful and everyone seems to have had a brilliant time!

Thank you again for all your help!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCdale, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Carrickdale Hotel & Spa for your wedding venue. We are delighted you enjoyed your day. The management and staff endeavour to make this day perfect for all our wedding couples and are delighted that we were part of your big day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Carrickdale Hotel and Spa for two nights and it is the best hotel we have stayed in by far. Everything from the greeting at the reception desk to the friendliness of the chambermaids was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt genuinely welcomed by everyone. It was a brilliant find for us and we will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zynngalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCdale, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments - We will look forward to you revisting the Carrickdale Hotel& Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

living beside this hotel i have attended many weddings (family) and have been for many meals. on friday past myself and two friends availed of the special deal for a comedy night being held. the chicken caeser salad which was to start was terrible. not what i have been used to at the hotel. the chicken did not look properly cooked and it was so very soggy!? no bacon, no croutons and no parmesan???? we decided to say nothing thinking it could only get better. my main was edible but the two girls' main was horrific. we really did not want to say anything but felt we had to. we were "not believed" as the staff say they tasted it for themselves....we felt so bad still that we were complaining and we were offered other dishes but the hunger had really worn off at that stage. when we went to pay-which we fully intended to-it was just said that there was nothing they could do.so basically the meal was unsatisfactory but that was that.very very disappointed by both the quality of the "meal" and by the customer service in general.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mullaghbawn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCdale, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am so disappointed to read this review of our restaurant. I have spoken with the restaurant manager who was on duty on Friday night and he was aware that 2 of the guests were unhappy with their main course (he was not made aware that you were also not satisfied with your starter). I don’t know what has happened with your Chicken Caesar Salad, because as you so rightly say it is not what you have been used to at the hotel, but I will speak with our head chef to make sure this does happen again.

I am disappointed that you felt you were not believed by the staff, as any complaints are taken very seriously and a reflection of this is the fact that the restaurant manager offered to make 2 new dishes for which you declined. He also deducted wine off your bill for which you were most grateful at the time and thanked him very much. Upon leaving you appeared to be very satisfied with how this was dealt with so I am very disappointed that you felt this had to be posted on tripadvisor when you appeared to leave the hotel very happy. If you wish to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact our General Manager as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

stayed for an ovenight stay a group of ladies for a spa break. arrived at lunch time had great fresh soup and bread booked into out rooms there was 4 single beds and spent the afternoon using the spa facilities pool and the outdoor jacquizzi which was lovely overlooking the gardens. went into the spa for a facial the ladies in the spa were very good very attentive they wanted you to have a relaxing time you could also use the steam room/sauna room and this was great. we stayed to evening meal which was ok next day had full breakfast which was great the offer the carrickdale have at the moment with the spa is a really good value package and a good service i would recomment

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCdale, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I am delighted you enjoyed relaxing in the spa and outdoor hot-tub overlooking the gardens. The girls in the spa always aim to ensure our guests receive the ultimate experience in the spa and will be happy to hear you enjoyed your facial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and on the Saturday night there were two weddings on. A lot of the guests were staying at the hotel and were returning to their room quite late in the night and were very noisy doing so. Some guests were returning in groups at 3.3Oam! This hotel is located a bit away from restaurants and the town so you tend to eat at the hotel for convenience. The meals and bar food were OK, the service of the staff was excellent. The photos of this hotel are quite misleading. The park and beautiful gardens that you see on the web-site for the hotel are not visible from our rooms and actually not visible from the main hotel. Our bedrooms overlooked a road, car-park and wall.

Room Tip: If you are staying a Saturday night be mindful that they have a lot of weddings there and this can m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_traveller053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCdale, Marketing at Carrickdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff, I will certainly pass this onto the team. I apologise you were awakened by other guests in the hotel. Unfortunately some guests have no consideration for others guests in the hotel, however if the night porters are made aware of any noise on corridors after weddings/functions they do endeavour to deal with this immediately.

As for the gardens, due to the location of the hotel, we have our gardens and leisure facilities on one side of the hotel which can be accessed by a very safe underground passageway which takes you to the main hotel. To make other guests aware, most of our bedrooms do not overlook our gardens, however if you want a view of our gardens I would recommend relaxing in our amazing hot tub which overlooks them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
8.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
5.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrickdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrickdale Hotel

Property: Carrickdale Hotel
Address: Carrickcarnon | Ravensdale, Dundalk, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickdale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrickdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickdale Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing