We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value”

Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
athlone
2 reviews
“very good value”
Reviewed January 6, 2011

the hotel is right in town centre and was great value for money, it was clean & modern. The room was too warm and the showers were hard to regulate. Also the bar didnt open untill 5pm and there was no hot food after 4pm, also the receptionist told us there was a residents bar and when we came back to the hotel at 12.30 am we were told there was no residents bar open. We stayed on a tuesday night and we were told it is very noisy at weekend when niteclub is on.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerAthlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    34
    25
    30
See reviews for
16
41
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Slap bang in the centre of Dundalk, you couldn't ask for a better location. And at €40 per person B&B, the price wasn't bad either. The reception qand café areas were recently done up and look quite well. However, the rest of the hotel is just so old and tired. The rooms and landings need a complete refit to bring it up to modern standard.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I went on a saturday night with a group of friends, the rooms were basic but comfortable, and staff were al very friendly... we enjoyed drinks in d hotel bar - parkes which was a very nice bar... the only downfall to this hotel was d noise from d nightclub (which we were informed about on booking i should say..) but overall i would recommend it if ur planning a night out in dundalk as its centrally located with easy access to the town...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Good value hotel in center of town.very clean ,rooms are a bit dated but the price reflects this. you wont get any food after 5 pm.but great chipper/restaurant across the road from hotel called roma.parking not great in public carpark but free to residents.but had no problems.nightclub in rear of hotel but did not go.good pressure in showers.reception and night porter very nice and helpful.very good bar also in hotel,..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galway212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killybegs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2009

stayed in the imperial hotel, had a great experiance, i was quated 60 euros over the phone, but wen i got there they only charged me 40 for a double room. as i am 7 hours away (by bus eireann) i phoned them up and told i would be running late and there was no problem. wen i checked in i was greeted by a young man and he was very professional. rooms were nice but basic. (didnt mind was only going u to drink). wen iwent to the bar and ordered my drink the bartender coulndnt have done enough for me. the bar was out of this world the design of it. as i work in the hotle bussiness myself i would be honoured to have the staff working for me the imperial hotel. (if i was generall manager of curse which i am not). excellent the only problem was i was only staying one night. should have stayed longer. didnt go to the nightclub so cant reveiw it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmcclsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbatch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Limited car parking spaces at the rear of hotel - prime location for problems. The restaurant serves a carvery ,but finishes at 4pm. Bar food finishes at 6pm so when you arrive, as I did, at 7pm - no food available.
As you enter the hotel the decor and sorroundings are quite nice, as you get further in, especially up towards the hotel rooms, the decor rapidly deteriorates.
I will not be staying here again - for 65 euros - you get what you pay for !!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dundalk hotels

Cavan
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Went here with a group of friends. Here is a list of how we were treated,...

- Forced to pay €50 in advance as we suspected of being a stag party that would wreck the rooms.
- Refused entry to the residents bar at 1am. Apparently this is company policy.
- I asked to speak to the manager who was extremely rude and lied repeatedly about the hotels policy to groups. Staff had told us completely different stories when we checked in.
- Breakfast was the most disgusting grease riddled mess I ever tasted. A full Irish is fried and some grease is expected but I draw the line when your sausage can nearly float in it.

Positives - the cleaner was friendly and chatted away to anyone she met in the corridor. It is relatively clean and central. I wouldn't stay in this hotel ever again.

  • Liked — The friendly cleaning lady
  • Disliked — The extremely bad mannered manager
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Neilc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
250 reviews
7.0 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
9.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
658 reviews
20.0 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Dundalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Dundalk

Property: Imperial Hotel Dundalk
Address: Park Street, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Imperial Hotel Dundalk 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel Dundalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing