We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good”

Windsor Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Excellent food, drink and service is what we strive to attain -whether you want a coffee, 4 course meal, romantic first date or just a relaxing drink or two - the Windsor Bar & Restaurant will cater for your needs.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“consistently good”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great family restraunt. Try the Cajun chicken.....really good. kids love the gratin. Friendly and eficient. No bookings though so get there early. If you don't have kids there is a nice bar for while you wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    82
    26
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“The Best Bar in Dundalk Co. Louth”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A excellent pub with fine beers and fine Wines with good Food in the restaurant. Service was friendly with a excellent ambience for dinner or just drink's with friends. A must see if your in Dundalk, Ireland.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“service was very slow”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we ate in windsor last night for food, we ate up in the restaurant it was a nice atmosphere but the service was really really slow from start to finish, it was not even busy the staff were all standing at the bar talking amongst each other i had to go and ask can we order now because we were waiting to long, i had been recommended to go here for the steak, my boyfriend had the steak and said it was lovely i had the vegetable stir fry it was lovely also we ate of the set menu and it was an excellent price,this was a lovely meal the staff just really really brought it down but the food was great so we will be back to try it again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nmdr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service and convenient location”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate here with 6 other friends. Most had the 3 course set menu at €25, all stated it to be excellent. Coffee was good too. Service was friendly and attentive. It is a restaurant above a pub and it feels relaxing.

The decor is red exposed brick which is warm, and the ambience overall feels good. It is a popular location.

An initial red wine choice we found to be poor, the bottle was served open on the table. We were not offered a taste first. The wine list appears to be good value. Fortunately they were happy to replace the wine to a house red which was ok.

Worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sightsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“The Best Steak & Rack of Lamb Ever”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just called in to the Windsor while in Dundalk recently and were lucky to find a table for two quite quickly . Ordered just main courses and had a couple of drinks. One order for rack of Lamb on bed of mash .. fabulous.. The other a steak medium with a few french fries and veg. The Steak was just massive but lovely and tender and just perfectly cooked. Can still taste it now .. Same with the Lamb . just delicious.
Service was very good and the atmosphere just nice . Its a great Pub Restaurant well situated on Dublin Street . We will make a beeline for the windsor when next in town . Thanks to the Staff. Highly recommended .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dundalk, County Louth
Dundalk, County Louth
 

Been to Windsor Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing