We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Old-timer”

Windsor Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 98 Restaurants in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Excellent food, drink and service is what we strive to attain -whether you want a coffee, 4 course meal, romantic first date or just a relaxing drink or two - the Windsor Bar & Restaurant will cater for your needs.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Solid Old-timer”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We love the bar in early evening. The beer is always top quality. The bar food is very good and good value too.
The restaurant upstairs is something special according to it's loyal following, but we haven't tried it to date.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mijacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    79
    26
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Super food and surprisingly spacious and quirky interior.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had an excellent 4 course meal here for €25!! Good choice of starters, excellent choice of mains including 10oz sirloin steak, lovely selection of homemade desserts and coffee to finish. The staff were helpful,friendly and efficient. I choose steak and it was perfectly cooked to my liking! Well done Windsor!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“WINDSOR DUNDALK”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were lucky enough to have this restaurant ecommended to us when out shopping in Dundalk otherwise we would never have thought of going to it.Don't let the fact that it is a public house on the corner of a street mislead you as upstairs is one of the best esting places you could find.The service was first class whilst the food was of the highest quality.We have beautiful starters but the main course really stood out.The wide choice left us with too many we wanted to try but the friendly waitress gave us great advice and the two fish dishes were beautiful,with sizeable portions.Everything was so fresh and cooked to perfection and so good that we didn't have any room for desset.The staff were so friendly and chatted away and our evening couldn't have been better.
Well worth looking out for this excellent restaurant

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardee, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food is average, staff are lovely”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place never changes their menu -which people seem to love in Dundalk. It's nice enough though/ quite average. Always busy and you can't book unless for large parties, so if ya wana go, go early in the evening. Very noisy, but was busy restaurant isn't I guess. The waitresses are lovely, friendly and attentive. Bar staff not as good. It's the kind of place you could go as a couple, with friends, family, whatever age ya are, etc. -the place is suited for all really. Nice decor also :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific pub and restaurant”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

traditional Irish pub, large, efficient with an accomodating staff, terrific food with variety. There is nothing to dislike. Conveniently located

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShamisNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windsor Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dundalk, County Louth
Dundalk, County Louth
 

Been to Windsor Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing