We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackie's Bar Resturant

Jackie's Bar Resturant
Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $37
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a family run gastro bar and restaurant serving bar food from 12.30 - 21.00 Tuesday to Sunday in the bar and 5.30 -21.00 in the restaurant. We also have a very exiting cocktail menu, big open fires in the winter and a beer garden in the summer where you can enjoy a cocktail and have a bite to eat, so why not join is in jackies were our family welcome yours
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food have yet to be dissapointed,great service also,well worth a visit reasonably priced,went for Sunday lunch a few times,very well presented ,all round this is a good place to eat

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon198209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    60
    20
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited this little gem last night fabulous! Food superb €25 for four courses couldn't finish it all lovely atmosphere great staff well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sevken52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“No attention to detail”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch, that was the 1st mistake. Arrived and was seated in the bar area in through the front door of the restaurant, no-one should be offered this seat! Uncomfortable was its best quality, no-one closes the front door after them, not even the staff and the noise of that door creaking every time annoyed us all and the cold draught topped it off. When I asked the waitress if it amours her she said yes and walked off! The decor is woeful, tired and grubby, and the whole ambience is poor. The staff were pleasant but any good manager would see the problems and sort them out. When the food arrived it was just what you would expect, averagely disappointing. Bad surroundings, poor decor, grubby appearance and average food, too expensive for what they serve. Looks like a place living off a very old reputation. It's just another of those very average places that you visit once but would not make the same mistake again. Management please take note, the comfort of your customers is paramount and your food just isn't good enough. You need to raise your game. I'm sorry I wasted an hour driving to your restaurant and my 88 year old father ranked you among one of the worst places he had ever had Sunday lunch in!!! Figure it out, tidy the place up, improve the food and sort out the noisy and drafty door! It's not rocket science!!!!

Helpful?
8 Thank KeenCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I had dinner here with friends on a Saturday night booking. You really can't beat the €25 deal they are doing for 3 courses plus bread and dips to start. There was plenty of choice on the menu although mo vegetarian. However when we asked we were given two main course options. I had the baked mushrooms to start which was very rich and very creamy, but very tasty. My main was vegetables in filo pastry and again was vety tasty
Portions are generous and the staff were very attentive so service was very good and the opposite of some comments I have read on here!

Would recommend and hope to return with my husband.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luvs2travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Won't get better than this!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Have eaten here a number of times during the year, and it's without doubt top of the range when it comes to dining out. It seems to get better every time we go. The staff are totally fantastic, from the restaurant through to the bar and lounge. Will look forward to dining again here in 2014

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackie's Bar Resturant also viewed

 
Dundalk, County Louth
 

Been to Jackie's Bar Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing