We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small portions over priced”
Review of Eno Bar & Grill

Eno Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Eno Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Eno' Bar & Grill, is a vibrant restaurant with a great buzzy atmosphere. Everything is made fresh, from scratch every day, using the best ingredients that we can source - to offer you the freshest most authentic Mediterranean food. We think food is important & are passionate about what we do. We have a wood-fired oven which we use to make authentic Neapolitan style pizzas, bread & also roasted vegetables, fish & meat.We offer a great value early bird menu, daily 5-7pm & all night mid week. We also do a traditional Sunday Lunch Menu every week 12-4pm - perfect to get the family together!Eno' is located in the heart of Dundalk opposite St Patrick's Cathedral - easy to find and with ample parking!Our Tapas & Cocktail Lounge is open Friday & Saturday night, serving a selection of Spanish & Italian Tapas Specials.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small portions over priced”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have visited eno on several occasions and food to be very good but overpriced. There is definitely portion control going on. My partner had a pasta dish a few weeks ago, and I had the same two weeks on, and it was half the size and what I would regard as a starter portion. Our most recent visit had a special on the menu with tuna costing almost €29 - this is way overpriced for the current economic climate where other restaurants would offer three course for less than this! we wont be returning in the immediate future. Strangely, the owner of the place was having his dinner at the bar at 8 pm on a Saturday night, which we found odd!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkW413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor G, Owner at Eno Bar & Grill, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
I'm very sorry you felt that your portion of pasta was too small. I can assure you that although portion control is an important part of our business, we have made no attempt to reduce portion size. We have changed the presentation to have the pasta sit up on the plate ( by twisting it into a swirl, the same way it is served in Italy) but the portion size is exactly the same as before. If you had mentioned it to us we would have changed it for you without fuss.

We at Eno' try very hard to offer quality food, quality service which is good value for money. We have 3 course set menus for €17 or our sharing menu for €34 for two - which is served all the time without restrictions.
We also like to keep our selection dynamic to feature locally sourced produce, for which we use our special boards. I would like to point out that the Tuna special you are referring to for €28.90 was in fact a mixed grilled fish board, which featured 5 different grilled fish, 4 of which were caught locally in Clogherhead. One of those 5 was the bocito tuna & pineapple skewers, which were quite unique in themselves, as baby tuna is quite a rarity - we could only get 3 of them and I'm happy to say that they were all sold. There are plenty of other cheaper alternatives available both on our menu and special boards.

As for it being odd me eating at the bar... Its a hectic business and sometimes you miss meal times and end up grabbing a quick bite when you can, all our tables were reserved. I ate standing up and was there for less then 5 mins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    84
    40
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out for our Communion party”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just wanted to say thanks for the excellent service and amazing food on saturday! Our whole party (8 adults and 2 kids) commented on the quality of the food, and our little girl was made to feel very special on her communion day. Thanks again, we will see you again soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor G, Owner at Eno Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Our pleasure - delighted you guys enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant- excellent pizza”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you love real pizza you will love this restaurant, proper thin crust wood fire pizzas-devine! Went here for a celebratory meal with my husband, we shared the Bruschetta starter which consists of a mixture of Bruschetta toppings, definitely a starter to share. We both had pizzas, the Daviola is really good if you like chillies. The service, food and wine list is very good, overall a great restaurant and well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Newmama2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“day out”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

just ok was on day out and really felt we had had better food in other places but that could just have been it that day I would go back again and give it another try

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresaaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Really enjoyed eno board starter .coffee cheese cake delightfull . House wine organic wine lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaneybabydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor G, Owner at Eno Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
The organic house wines are great & have proved really popular
thanks for the positive comments. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eno Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Eno Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing