We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$110
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Krakow B&B(Dundalk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage B&B(Dundalk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveler rating
428
177
43
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
177
43
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursetennis courtsterrace barround of golfpro shopbeautiful groundsbeautiful hotelleisure centrewedding receptioncooley peninsulalovely settingwell worth a visitfunction roomfirst classset menupublic areasrelaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
661 - 666 of 681 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed in this hotel on a few occasions in the past and overall we were happy with the standard of the rooms but It's not that special that they should charge €205 per night for 2 adults and 1 four year old child. Also, they don't serve food in the restaurant between 3 p.m and 5 p.m. You have to make do with whatever sandwiches are available at the bar. Very poor service. Won't stay again, too expensive now for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank DublinLucy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Just back from a fabulous weekend at the Ballymac. We got a great deal on a 2 night B&B / 1 eve meal which you need to ring the hotel directly for. When we checked in we were disappointed to hear that there were weddings booked for both Fri & Sat afternoons as we have had pretty bad experiences in the past with hotels on wedding days. We were placed on the top floor in a simply massive room with a superking size bed and didn't hear a thing either night. The leisure facilities were lovely, and while not as modern or spa like as other hotels in this class, there was seldom anybody there at the same time we were. Tip - apparently members bring kids to the leisure centre until 8pm on Fridays so if you want a quiet swim, you might do well to wait until they have left the pool.
Our room was well presented and clean, the only downside being a very loud buzz from the fusebox at the entrance hallway, which didn't make it easy to get off to sleep.
The first night we popped down to Fitzpatricks and had a great seafood dinner. The second we made the most of the restaurant in the hotel and enjoyed a delicious meal which was served on piping hot plates to the table.
I would highly recommend this for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mo3art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend in early February, recommended by another hotel which was full! Fell for the recommendation and unfortunately trusted it .. the minute we drove up the drive we knew it was not what we expected...scaffolding....unfriendly reception staff...reataurant food was basic.... maitre de rude... waitress friendly....room -- not great....expensive and not value for money ...disappointing overall ...filled up comment sheet and said as much .... never heard a word!

Stayed: February 2007
9  Thank CathyOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

my best friend had her wedding there and just fab, food is fab,accomdation is fab, within 5 mins drive to dundalk. i love it that much my wedding is booked there this year.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Roxie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

We stayed at Ballymascanlon for a long weekend for a family members birthday. We were a party of 11 in total and every one of us was incredibly impressed by the hotel. We have stayed at many hotels claiming to be of 4 star standard in the past and failing to impress, but Ballymascanlon is well worthy of its 4 stars for various reasons.

We have a 17 month old little boy and were a bit nervous about how flexible the hotel would be. I contacted the hotel before we arrived with various queries and got quick and full response from them answering all my questions and giving me more than enough info to put my mind at rest.

Whilst there, the hotel were incredibly accommodating to the baby's needs, providing milk, warming bottles and being flexible with times of food to fit with my little boy's lunch time and extra bits as we needed. They also provided a lovely babysitter for one evening. The staff were great with him full stop.

Apart from the baby needs, all adult needs were also met. Our room was perfect with not only enough room for a double bed, single bed and cot and room to spare, but the biggest surprise was a standalone shower as well as a bath in the bathroom, which, from my experience, is very rare in hotels. Fantastic bonus.

The food in the main restaurant in the evenings was fantastic as was the service. We couldn't fault it at all. We were a big table and there were no mistakes or delays at all. Make sure you leave room for dessert.

The pool and leisure facilities looked great although I didn't get a chance to use them but my neice and nephew did and had a great time. My husband would have loved a round of golf too but didn't get the chance for that either.

The really nice thing about this hotel is that it is not a run of the mill chain hotel like many others. It is not sterile and samey. It has a very distinct friendly personality which is very cosy and homely rather than run of the mill/businessy (although I'm sure they cater well for that too) It's a bit rustic in ways, not perfectly pristeen and new but that adds to the comfort and atmosphere of the place.

All in all we'd all definitely recommend it and will be going back next time we're in Ireland for a holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tara72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews