We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Myself and my wife had our wedding reception in the Ballymac on the 16th August. Firstly the service received from staff and in particular Karen Waters and Niall Quinn was exceptional. They made us and our guests feel like we had their full attention throughout our weekend stay.
Family from the UK and America commented on what a great experience their stay had been, with many suggesting that we extend our stay for another night.
The wedding itself went without a hitch and again this largely due to the professionalism of staff.
The wedding meal was superb and I cannot find fault in any of the dishes.
It was great to be able to show our guests the best hospitality Co. Louth has to offer.
Lastly, but most importantly, my wife stated she had the perfect wedding reception and I would like to thank the Ballymac for making this possible.

Room Tip: The old section of the house for a unique stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Benny206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you and your wife had as you say yourself " the perfect wedding reception" with us here at Ballymac and we extend a warm "your welcome" to you both.

We are also pleased that your overseas guests also enjoyed their time with us and hopefully will spread the word about their good experience here when they are back home in the UK or US.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Ballymac in the very near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 635 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed in Ballymascanlon House Hotel for a wedding some weeks ago and was very impressed with the place. Staff were really friendly and the hotel was magnificent. Can't wait to go back for a longer stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us while attending a wedding here at the hotel.

I have placed your review on the staff notice board so they can all read your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel before. However, on this occasion I felt that the Hotel was so busy, that the staff seemed rushed off their feet, which meant the service level was not up to the usual standard and the restaurant area was untidy with tables unclear and food on the floor.

The room was nice.

Reasonable breakfast. Hot food table nice, but limited continental choice and fruit salad was made with very ripe fruit, which was not appealing.

If travelling with children, pool area is off limits from 18:00, so my daughters were disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barravore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor as we welcome all feedback from our guests.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your return visit to Ballymascanlon Hotel, we are indeed very busy over the summer period at weekends however I have passed on your comments to the management team to ensure that there are sufficiant staffing levels to manage these busy periods and keep the restaurant, etc clean and tidy.

I have also addressed your comments regarding the fresh fruit with our chef.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Ballymascanlon Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Myself , my 5 year old son and my partner stayed here for a wedding at the weekend.
We had a fabulous stay here, the food was excellent the grounds were superb the kids really enjoyed it and the staff were so friendly. We enjoyed our full use of the leisure facilities on Sunday and we were offered a late checkout.
I'm not gona give any tips of what to do or what to avoid, just go and relax and enjoy the surroundings of this great hotel.
We shall be returning again soon.
Chris judge, nicola Fay and regan. Room 117

Room Tip: If u have a kid bring a DVD player or ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Chris, Nicola and Regan,

Thank you for posting your recent review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us while attending a wedding and that you managed to avail of the facilities, Leisure Centre etc.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the very near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

A lovely friendly hotel with helpful staff and beautiful rooms with reasonable products although no bathrobes or slippers. It is certainly a good 4 star. I was there for a golf weekend and everything ran exceptionally well. However the breakfast are woeful when compared to the vast majority of hotels nowadays. we had a wonderful dinner! really superb but average bar food and a breakfast lacking variety and of poor quality. they need to shape up here. Do the staff never visit other hotels to see what is on offer out there!!? However almost everything else was great and we will be returning. There also was an issue with the wifi, no one could get on but we were told this was an isolated incident.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mcgorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and I am delighted that you enjoyed your golf weekend with us.

I have spoken to the Managing Director regarding your feedback on the breakfast and at present they are reviewing the manner in which breakfast is served and the quality of food, etc, so hopefully you will see a vast improvement the next time you stay with us.

There was an issue with the wifi this weekend, our service provider let us down badly and we are now in the process of upgrading with a new provider to ensure this does not happen again.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Ballymascanlon Hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a mixture of old and new. The "old" or "mature" part of the hotel is the beautiful front of house, it's high ceilings and dome skylight in the reception area. Don't forget to wander out back and see the other gardens and old out buildings and then walk with "proper shoes" up to the dolmen. It's about 10mins walk up and back along a path through the beautiful golf course.

The new buildings are the bedrooms, spacious, with lovely bathrooms, TV and coffee making facilities.

We did not have an evening meal in the Restaurant on our 2 night stay preferring to relax it out for 3-4 hours on comfy chairs in the bar and order bar food, which we enjoyed. The staff are very helpful and co-operative.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed for 1 night only in August 2014, just an overnight break away from the usual weekend stuff. The hotel is situated at the end of a tree lined driveway, and the surrounding gardens and golf course are truly beautiful
Check in was efficient and the staff were pleasant. Our room was on the second floor, and if I am to be honest I was a little dissapointed. The corridors to the rooms were a little bit the worst for wear, wallpaper marked and carpets a little tired. However everything was clean. Our room had a door leading out to a balcony, but when we went out, the balcony ran the full lenght of the corrdior, and anyone could gain access to any other room if the door was open. Not very security minded!!!!!!!!! Even with the window open it was possible to lean in and open the door, gaining access.
The bathroom was clean, but very small, and my pet hate, a shower curtain instead of a screen door. Perhaps they could look at replacing these curtains, as the overall impression is that the bathroom is outdated.
The room itself was spacious, and very clean, with tea/coffe making facilities, hair dryer and all the usual things you would expect. A bottle of water would be a welcome addition.
Dinner in the resteraunt was lovely, not very Cordon Blu but good, fresh ingredients, tasty food, and helpful friendly staff.
I would definitely stay here again, but maybe a little revamp of some things would add even more to the experience.

Room Tip: get a room away form the ballroom for less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bernadettewalsh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed the gardens, restaurant, etc.

I have discussed your concerns regarding the balconies and shower curtains with the senior management of the hotel, thank you for your feedback.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Ballymac in the very near future.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
720 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
687 reviews
10.0 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
19.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Address: Carlingford Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range: $144 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballymascanlon House is set on 130 acres of beautiful parkland, this impressive Victorian House forms the heart of this Hotel. It is one of the most remarkable historical estates in Ireland dating back to 833 A.D. Steeped in history, Ballymascanlon estate is located in Ireland’s North East on the Cooley Peninsula in close proximity to the Irish Sea and Mourne Mountains. Less than 1 hour from Dublin and Belfast, and 20 minutes from the medieval town of Carlingford. Owned and run with pride and dedication by the Quinn Family, we are delighted to welcome you to our beautiful luxurious venue, ideal for both Business and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing