We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hospitality great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for one night, breakfast was great, super rooms spotlessly clean. We played the golf course with the pro/shop owner facilitating the hire of clubs and shoes, no trouble.
The staff were really friendly and could not do enough. We didn't try the spa but by all accounts this is also very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baronredcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, I will put up your review on the staff notice board and Gerry in the Pro Shop was very appreciative of your kind comments.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Ballymac very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    151
    35
    18
    11
See reviews for
159
196
12
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontheroadagn7
Level Contributor
532 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stopped by to see the ancient Prolek Dolmen stones. A short walk of ten minutes from the hotel (well signposted) through the golf course. Good photo spot. Even if you're not staying there, I would recommend the short walk out to this attraction.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we would also encourage anyone passing by Ballymascanlon Hotel to come in and view the Dolmen and spend some time with us.

I hope you will be back and maybe to stay with us next time?

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a family wedding. Very impressed. The rooms are lovely and large. We had a terrace overlooking the tennis court. The function rooms and food are also very impressive. I did not get the opportunity to sample the leisure center unfortunately. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at your family wedding last weekend.

I will pass on your kind words to the staff, who love to get such positive feedback.

We hope to see you again soon at Ballymascanlon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just returned from a very nice stay at Ballymascanlon House Hotel. Could not fault anything. Spotlessly clean, friendly, mannerly and highly efficient members of staff, lovely food, great setting. Weddings on each day of our stay and did not interfere with hotel guests. Great spot for a cross border shopping trip.

Highly recommended for a quiet relaxing break

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineGaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will advise our staff on your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to Ballymac very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have attended one wedding here and many many meetings with work. It a glorious location and has come on over the years to one of the best hotels to stay or get married in. The location is lovely, mature grounds and hotel is fab mix of old and new. It situated just outside Dundalk and only 10 mins to Newry and same to Carlingford and Fitzpatrick's. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: always check previous reviews for tips and contact manager if further queries or concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MULLYJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, it is great to read such a positive review from one of our regular guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon here at Ballymac.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned home after having a 3 night stay as part of a coach trip and was impressed at the hotel. Would complain about the WiFi but have seen a reply to a previous review and understand it was not the hotels fault. Evening meals were delicious but too much for some of our travel companions and the choices for breakfast were excellent. Most staff were very attentive at both meal times and gladly accepted the request of smaller portions in evenings. Rooms were wonderful, light and airy although some channels on tv did not show titles of programmes. Service in the bar was excellent even though the were very busy on Saturday night. Would love to stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanJeannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your 3 nights with us at Ballymac, I have passed on your kind words to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a local hotel and myself and my wife stayed here overnight for our first anniversary.
The bed was rather uncomfortable as in the double was two singes joined together. Nowadays, I lime to bring my Roku box on trips and connect same to the HDMI port of the hotel room TV. In the Ballymascanlon Hotel, they have opted for very budget Walker TV's - on which both HDMI ports were either not working or locked down.
Even if the HDMI ports had been working, I would probably have tethered the Roku player via my mobile phone - the hotel broadband was terrible - very high latency and speeds of less than half a Mb/s.
My well done steak in the restaurant was anything but well done - it was red in the middle, however the breakfast in the morning was excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letmedecide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanineCarroll, Director of Sales at Ballymascanlon House Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor, we welcome all feedback both positive and negative.

Unfortunately during your stay with us our hosting company had let us down and as a result our wifi was not working to its usual high standard, you may note from some other recent reviews that other guests also experienced this difficultly. Our TV's have two USB ports and two HDMI ports and these are not locked.

We have also spoken to the chef to ensure that orders are cooked according to the guests specific request.

I do apologize that your experience with us did not match up to your expectations for your first anniversary and I note that you live locally to us, I therefore hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon to Ballymascanlon Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
10.1 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
19.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Property: Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Address: Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House Ballymascanlan House 173) Carlingford Road (R, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing