We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here recently for a family occasion. Cannot praise this hotel enough for their attention they provided to us even though there was a large wedding on at the same time. From booking to check-out the staff were friendly and very accomodating.Nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms were immcaulate and spacious. Food was fantastic & prices were very reasonable. Two minutes from motorway so very convenient to get to. Outdoor Hot tub was devine. Overall cleanliness was excellent. Picturesque grounds to walk around early in the morning as the sun is rising. Plenty of sporting activities from walking, swimming, gym & tennis all without leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    164
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
169
212
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here in December for a night while attending a wedding Beautiful hotel, decorated magically for Christmas. Rooms were well appointed, food delicious. Breakfast supposed to finish at 10am but they still served latecomers. Excellent leisure facilities and spotless throughout the hotel.
Am abit biased as this where I had my own wedding, but the Ballymac is a fabulous hotel and a real treat to spend a night in.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyMcP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rep of Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday 3rd February on the Pigsback.com deal which was €99 for 1 night B&B, a round of Golf for two or bottle or prosecco, €20 towards dinner in the dining room and late checkout til 2pm.

The hotel and its grounds are lovely. The entrace from the main Dundalk to Carlingford Road is via a gatelodge and thereafter a tree lined curving avenue which runs along the Golf Course. The Hotel itself has a lovely friendly atmosphere and the staff were very attentive to our needs. We had a 10 month old baby with us and the staff couldn't have been friendlier towards her.

Our room (326) was lovely, bright and spacious and spotlessly clean. We had friends staying in 327 and their room was identical.The bathroom was contemporary and spotless, containing a nice bath and a seperate shower.

The hotel bar area was nice and comfortable with good service and it was child friendly. The high chairs are the sturdy grey plastic type with removable tray.

We headed down to the leisure club area to use the pool. It's a bit small, having only 3-4 lanes and would be more for splashing about than doing lengths. The kiddies pool is at one end under a bridge and is bright and spacious. Our wee girl loved it! The leisure centre also contains a sauna, steamroom, jacuzi, freezing plungepool and an outdoor hottub.

We availed of the dinner in the hotel which was a set menu at €42 per person. Whilst it is expensive, the €20 voucher did help and the quality of our meal was such that we were happy to pay €62 for the experience (€84 less voucher). The sirloin steak was one of the nicest I have ever tasted and the beef is local, coming from Cooley. The starters were lovely and the desserts equally as good. the service was particularly friendly and informatve.

I will be back to the Ballymac and I have already recommended to friends and family. Overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 326 & 327 have lovely views of the Cooley Mts, Annaverna and the old coachhouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daithi28RepofIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night break in this lovely hotel. Overall a very good experience We had though we had booked 2 nights b & b with one dinner for the price 320 euro however we had to pay another €84 for a dinner for two. By any measure this was expensive for a four course hotel meal. Otherwise service was great but I will not be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay, very impressed with the whole experience,
Staff very welcoming and helpful,
The food was delicious
Leisure facilities excellent
Every area of the hotel was spotless
The only slight fault was that there was only 1 person in the restaurant and i do appreciate that it
is not necessary to have a lot of staff on duty when not busy, but i felt there was a slight lack of someone to sit the guest on arrival.
I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have very seldom been satisfied with hotels in Ireland, there's a culture of poor service and poor value on this island so, I have to say, my hopes weren't high when we decided to stay over at the Ballymascanlon House Hotel after a wedding reception.

We had a lovely time, imagine my surprise! Our room was bright and clean and even though the view was over a flat roof which was a bit grotty and industrial, the weather was so foul that it didn't matter.

The staff were polite, helpful and even cheerful (this is close to Dundalk, the Mogadishu of the north, so finding cheerful, helpful staff was very surprising and very welcome).

Minor gripes only: horrible view from our room, hot water only just hot, slightly tardy service at breakfast and (for me) a slightly intimidating political picture on the wall of the public space celebrating a 'physical force' republican who had some connection with the house.

Overall, excellent by comparison with the local competition and very good by any standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belfastconfetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent two nights here on a dinner, bed and breakfast offer. It was absolutely lovely and I am looking forward to another visit. There was a major function going on during our first night but the hotel is so well laid out that it did not disturb us in the slightest and our evening meal was not affected either, great service and lovely staff looking after us. My husband is left handed and always switches his cutlery around before our meal arrives. The lovely waitress recognised the situation and spoke to him in Irish about it. He was very impressed. We found the hotel to be so welcoming and there were lovely places to sit around and read after dinner. Our room had great lighting for reading as well, which is something lacking in so many hotels today.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
694 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
19.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,325 reviews
22.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Property: Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Address: Carlingford Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballymascanlon House is set on 130 acres of beautiful parkland, this impressive Victorian House forms the heart of this Hotel. It is one of the most remarkable historical estates in Ireland dating back to 833 A.D. Steeped in history, Ballymascanlon estate is located in Ireland’s North East on the Cooley Peninsula in close proximity to the Irish Sea and Mourne Mountains. Less than 1 hour from Dublin and Belfast, and 20 minutes from the medieval town of Carlingford. Owned and run with pride and dedication by the Quinn Family, we are delighted to welcome you to our beautiful luxurious venue, ideal for both Business and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing