We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by joy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence
Killyleagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Surprised by joy.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have very seldom been satisfied with hotels in Ireland, there's a culture of poor service and poor value on this island so, I have to say, my hopes weren't high when we decided to stay over at the Ballymascanlon House Hotel after a wedding reception.

We had a lovely time, imagine my surprise! Our room was bright and clean and even though the view was over a flat roof which was a bit grotty and industrial, the weather was so foul that it didn't matter.

The staff were polite, helpful and even cheerful (this is close to Dundalk, the Mogadishu of the north, so finding cheerful, helpful staff was very surprising and very welcome).

Minor gripes only: horrible view from our room, hot water only just hot, slightly tardy service at breakfast and (for me) a slightly intimidating political picture on the wall of the public space celebrating a 'physical force' republican who had some connection with the house.

Overall, excellent by comparison with the local competition and very good by any standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belfastconfetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    164
    37
    18
    13
See reviews for
169
212
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We spent two nights here on a dinner, bed and breakfast offer. It was absolutely lovely and I am looking forward to another visit. There was a major function going on during our first night but the hotel is so well laid out that it did not disturb us in the slightest and our evening meal was not affected either, great service and lovely staff looking after us. My husband is left handed and always switches his cutlery around before our meal arrives. The lovely waitress recognised the situation and spoke to him in Irish about it. He was very impressed. We found the hotel to be so welcoming and there were lovely places to sit around and read after dinner. Our room had great lighting for reading as well, which is something lacking in so many hotels today.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barney49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Myself and my wife held our wedding reception here during the summer. It was always in our heads to get married there but the hotel and its staff exceeded our expectations.

The staff were incredible, dealing with every little query we had in the lead up to the event and while we were staying there. The meal at the wedding was superb and having also dined in the restaurant and terrace bar, I can tell you that you are in for a treat if you have a bite to eat here.

The rooms were perfect and what really stood out for me was the number of people who had travellled to our wedding who commented on what a superb hotel it really was. They couldn't get over the stunning grounds and the range of local amenities.

Definitely worth a visit whether it be for a wedding, a romantic trip away or with family or friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have just returned from a two day break with my husband. I would recommend this hotel very highly. The staff are more than friendly and helpful and there is a really nice atmosphere in this hotel. The room was very nicely decorated and we had a lovely view of the mountains. We thoroughly enjoyed our mealin the restaurant on the first night. The menu had lots of really excellent choices and the staff on duty were very attentive. The following day we enjoyed using the leisure centre facilities. Even though there was a large wedding on the second day of our stay it didn't mean that the staff were any less attentive. The grounds are lovely for a walk. Overall this hotel deserves it's four star review.

Room Tip: The third floor room 328 has really lovely views and is a really comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing few days away. The Ballymascanlon team have most definitely mastered the art of hospitality. From check in to check out it was a very pleasant stay and the food was super!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazamataz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A group of 3 couples spent New Years in the Ballymacsanlon Hotel, Sunday to New Years day, we had a deal two nights BB with dinner on both nights for €220pp.
This was our second visit and it did not disappoint There are a number of small comfortable sitting areas to read your paper or have tea /coffee with open fires burning day and night. Check in and out was quick and efficient. Our bedroom was clean bright airy and large overlooking a courtyard.
The staff were friendly and the food on both nights was delicious with a good selection, couldn't finish my dessert and Pauline our very attentive waitress offered to pack it up for me ( I declined) Roulade of smoked salmon with crabmeat, Dover Sole was delicious and Rack of Lamb was good if a little small plenty of fresh vegetables and potatoes.
I have two small complaints- breakfast was not 4 star quality, continental choice was poor and the buffet serving area is very tight space wise, on both mornings there was a number of guests waiting for eggs. On New Years Eve we were promised a live band which turned out to be a one man band performing Country and Western not really suitable to get New Years party going.
Overall I would recommend Ballymascanlon Hotel with Carlingford, the Cooley Mountains and if shopping is your thing outlets in Banbridge and Newry are all a short drive away and 1 hour travelling time from Dublin is a plus.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TrishaOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice hotel on lovely grounds. Food was only average. Steak was served one way only. Wine was poor. Starter was nice. Desert only ok. Staff very friendly.

Our room had a nest of wasps in it. Found a couple when we checked in but paid no attention and put them outside. Fell into bed at 02.00 & at 05.00 I felt something on my shoulder. You guessed it -a wasp. Called reception who put us in a new room but it was a twin -wife not that happy.

The room rate was cut in half which I really appreciated but its something that should not happen.

I felt we were in a part of the house that was not used since the summer or regularly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundalk
4.8 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
694 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
2.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
19.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,325 reviews
22.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymascanlon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymascanlon House Hotel

Property: Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Address: Carlingford Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballymascanlon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballymascanlon House is set on 130 acres of beautiful parkland, this impressive Victorian House forms the heart of this Hotel. It is one of the most remarkable historical estates in Ireland dating back to 833 A.D. Steeped in history, Ballymascanlon estate is located in Ireland’s North East on the Cooley Peninsula in close proximity to the Irish Sea and Mourne Mountains. Less than 1 hour from Dublin and Belfast, and 20 minutes from the medieval town of Carlingford. Owned and run with pride and dedication by the Quinn Family, we are delighted to welcome you to our beautiful luxurious venue, ideal for both Business and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ballymascanlon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymascanlon Hotel Dundalk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing