We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Having read various reviews and researching elsewhere, we chose this hotel for a two night stay. Our room on the first floor was facing the rear of the hotel, next time I would choose a room at the front.

There is limited parking on the street to the front of the hotel, so we opted to park in the car park behind the hotel. There doesn't seem to be any special needs parking with the hotel and the trek from the back of the car park to the hotel wouldn't be ideal. We discovered a back door that was propped open so we used that. (There's a step so not good for wheelchair users.)

Our room was spotless, if a little small, but had a double and single bed. We ate in the bar on arrival ,service was slow but the food excellent.
Then we took off to explore the area a little. Last orders were to be taken at 8.45 so we made sure to be in the bar at 8.30. Eventually a waiter approached us ten minutes later and said service had finished 5 mins earlier (8.35) which was annoying. I see on some of the newer reviews that a few people had the same problem, so be aware of this .

Breakfast was cooked to order( a big plus) and was good. Dinner on one night was part of our package and again service was slow, but the food excellent.

The young staff were friendly and helpful and I would certainly recommend this hotel as a base for exploring Beara and beyond.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the front of the hotel and ideally on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarveyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    163
    43
    13
    11
See reviews for
93
276
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mitchelstown, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel its in a great location in walking distance to all shops pubs and restaurants. the bedrooms are a good size and are spotless. Its very peaceful so got a great nights sleep. The food was really good but sometimes can be a bit of a wait!! Would deffinately stay here again good value too!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located half way along the main street of the delightful village of Glengariff. The boat to Garnish island is an easy walk, as are pretty much all the bars and restaurants in the village. It forms a great base if one is tackling the scenically stupendous Beara peninsula. The bedrooms are comfortable and well appointed. The full Irish breakfast is hearty and pretty tasty. The adjacent bar, MacCarthy’s is atmospheric and keeps a very good value pint of Guinness. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was enjoyable. This hotel is reasonable value in a great location. It also has free wi-fi which is a boon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alantroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel, the bed was so so comfy, lovely big room...spotless.
Fab breakfast lovely staff looking after you all the time..
We got our times mixed up,had booked dinner but when arrived at restaurant we were late and they had stopped serving food 15 mins prior.. but the manager/owner (not sure) John looked after us the chef cooked the nicest stir fry I've ever had!! My husband had beautiful fish. . Really enjoyed our stay.. lovely town great craic in bars. Can't wait to go again.
Get into that bed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlemo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed from 20th to the 22nd of July. Though it was a short visit it was memorable. The hotel is spotless, rooms are big bright and comfortable. The breakfasts are great, plenty to eat. The staff are super friendly. The location is on main street and the exterior is clean and very pleasing. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in glengarriff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenkendorf
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Everything was absolutely perfect and we would stay here anytime again. The room was very clean and we had a lot of space. Although the room faced the main street the room was quiet and we slept very well on the comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Only stopped for one night but would definitely stay again.
Good sized room, very clean and friendly staff. We were treated to an impromptu trad session in McCarthy's bar which made the evening.
One of the party left a jacket behind and this was posted on by the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glengarriff
0.4 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
167 reviews
6.3 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
181 reviews
16.9 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
185 reviews
6.3 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarriff Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarriff Park Hotel

Property: Glengarriff Park Hotel
Address: The Village, Glengarriff, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarriff Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the beautiful village of Glengarriff, the hotel provides luxurious & spacious rooms with heated bathroom floors. Glengarriff Park Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the timeless beauty of its surrounding 60 acres of nature reserve, woodlands and the magical Beara Peninsula. You can also relax, enjoy traditional live Irish music and mix with the locals in our traditional Irish pub, Mac Carthy's Bar or treat yourself to a fine dining experience in The Park Bistro. Located in the centre of this stunning coastal village, nestled in the dramatic mountains of West Cork, all of the en-suite rooms have 6-foot (1.8 metre) beds and plasma flat-screen TVs. We also offer a business centre/boardroom with a Hi-Def 50" display screen with laptop connection, white board, broadband and telephone and facilities. Please enquire at reception for room rental rates. The area boasts spectacular scenery and activities, including walking, fishing, golf, sailing, gardens and horse riding. The hotel is on the N71 which links the towns of Bantry in West Cork and Kenmare in County Kerry. The Blue Pool Park and Garnish Island are within easy reach. The Glengarriff Park Hotel is fully wheelchair accessible. Hotel Rooms: 26. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glengarriff Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing