We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glengarriff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View Boutique Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Glengarriff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Emerald, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Hostess”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This updated B&B was such a pleasure, the hostess with the mostest made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble , her laid back attitude made us at ease immediately. The rooms and bathrooms were immaculate, the food first class. This relatively newly renovated place is in a great spot close to the little coves and down to the village.
The only brickbat was the chairs in the coffee house needed a good clean and some colour needs to be injected into the bedrooms either in the form of some fresh flowers or subtle rugs. A1

Room Tip: Book in early to enjoy a walk down to the cove and a fantastic coffee and cake from the adjoining co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
31
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Fantastic place. Great hospitality, warm hosts, excellent, moders and clean rooms with modern plumbing, bedding, etc. (get room 6 or room 9 for great views to Bantry Bay), delicious food for breakfast all the way through afternoon tea. It is a very pleasant walk into town, which also features some good pubs and restaurants (we particularly liked the Martello).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one night, loads of parking, recently refurbished, great room, lovely bathroom, great breakfast, chose vegetarian breakfast, it was excellent. Coffee shop attached to guest house, possibly to sit outside at the back. All food home-cooked and delicious. It is about a 10 min walk into Glengarrif centre. Really quiet rooms and very comfortable beds. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived at Bay View on August 12th for four nights with our eight month old. The check-in was as you would expect from West Cork folk, friendly, warm and welcoming. Aine showed us to our room, No. 6, which was fabulous, the decor was beautiful with a big spacious bathroom, stunning balcony and amazing views over the bay to Garnish Island and it had the most comfortable huge bed. Breakfast was fabulous too, they have the best creamy porridge and are passionate about Irish produced foo, we learned a thing or two. Beautiful, coffee & fresh organge juice and Aine couldn't do enough for us.
There are unfortunately some downsides to this place which could easily be fixed. The lack of housekeeping in the rooms was a big disppointment for us. We stayed for four nights, we received no change of bedsheets, no fresh towels, no spare toiletries and every evening we had to strip our bed and make it ourselves. There was no vaccuming or bins empited and the tea/coffee facilites were not replenished either. It was also apparent that the main hallways had not be dusted in quite a while and certainly hadn't been vacuumed during our stay. I would have expected more than this.
We were told on check-in that breakfast was between 8am-10am in the coffee house downstairs. The first morning this was fine we arrived at 8.15am, the second we arrived at 8.15am to a locked door and no one turned up until 8.40am. We received no apolog, no explanation and the remaining two mornings nobody turned up until 8.30am! Aine does not appear to live on site and a contact phone number was not provided should we have needed anything during our stay. We were out and about touring all day and when we arrived back in the evenings, the coffee house was shut and there didn't appear to be anyone about.
I wouldn't hesitate staying here especially if you are touring the area despite what I have mentioned in my review. The rooms are so quiet and comfortable and guarantee a good nights rest. I would like to think that housekeeping issue will be addressed.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a beautiful big balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank But2ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Good location, comfortable and well appointed rooms, incomparable views. Aine was so welcoming, and we felt right at home. The establishment is just the right size, and very well run. Beautiful food, and also tasty. The Full Irish is much nicer than what you would get elsewhere. I do wish that they would serve food past 5 o'clock though! I can't say enough about this place, it is definitely the place to stay in Glengarriff. And the price is extremely competitive!

Room Tip: Number 6 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank losgruesometwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous rooms, views and breakfasts. The rooms are very large, with really comfy furniture, a big Tv with all the satellite stations and the bathroom has a large and powerful shower/bath with more and better quality soaps than you usually find in hotel rooms. Try to book early enough to get room 6....balcony with incomparable views.
I love Glengarriff ... But part of the reason I want to go back is to stay in this guest house again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

No wonder this is ranked no.1. Beautiful residence, the rooms are brilliant, and the downstairs / ground floor is a very upmarket bistro / restaurant. We had room 9 which had the most magnificent view of Garnish Island. The furniture, the bathroom , the sea view. My wife, who could talk for Ireland, was just gobsmacked and unable to speak.

Aine, the owner, made us feel like family, she was so relaxed and a really nice genuine person. She told us that breakfast the following morning was between 8.30am and 12 noon. Sure, where would you get it. She organized a taxi to take us to Glengarriff, a 5 minute drive.

When the breakfast arrived the following morning I didn't know whether to photograph it or eat it. Such a magnificent presentation. The food was so good we came back 2 days after checking out for lunch. This lady is an interior designer by trade, and she has brought elements of her craft into her food presentations. No wonder she has won 2 food awards since she has opened.

We cant wait to go back. This B&B is just wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 9 have fantastic views, they may cost a few extra Euro, but it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheajoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glengarriff
0.0 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,130 reviews
8.5 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
4.9 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Boutique Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Boutique Guest House

Property: Bay View Boutique Guest House
Address: Bantry Rd, Reenmeen, Glengarriff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Glengarriff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing