We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous restaurant!”
Review of The Martello Restaurant - CLOSED

The Martello Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $62
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Martello situated in Glengarriff on the Wild Atlantic Way, is owned by renowned local Chef Sean Hurley and managed with his daughter Emily. We offer locally seafood,meat,poultry & vegetables, cooked ' a la francaise'. Our wine list is full of interesting options and we pride ourselves on our warm welcoming service. Reservations recommended during busy periods. We open 7 days per week in the Summer - with lunch available on Sundays from noon. Our team are happy to help you plan your special family occasions, and we also offer a wedding dinner service for those with up to 40 guests.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved Martello in Glengarriff. We had local hake and salmon with delicious fresh vegetables and bread. Excellent wine. short walk from our lovely Park hotel. Our waitress was very kind and attentive. Delightful soft music playing. I highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dggwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 98 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

lovely room, good attentive service but very disappointing food.. had some form of brie starter with bread and a lazy salad.. vegetarian option was some form of gluppy penne pasta with mixed vegetables... usual poor veggie fare in irish restaurants in Ireland. would not recommend or return

4  Thank buddhitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean H, Owner at The Martello Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to The Martello and felt so strongly that you gave us a damning review , we can't recall having received a complaint on the night and a normal person having received such a bad meal would make a complaint on the spot . We put our hands up and say while we do try to " satisfy "vegetarians we don't profess to be a vegetarian restaurant . On arrival we serve a selection of breads and tapenade f.o.c. and a lot of our customers take some tapenade home with them . We are renowned for our selection of locally caught fish and locally sourced steaks ,lamb ,poultry etc . We don't have any vegetarian dishes on the menu but if contacted in advance and when making a booking we discuss the vegetarian preference with our customer and all works well . Taking your comments on board I feel as the chef/owner of The Martello the problem lies with me . I must admit I never gave vegetarian'ism priority

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

our entire family of nine ate here in March. It was delicious food. Service was friendly ..paid attention to the children.. It is a small restaurant so being a large group ,we made reservations..Everone thought their meals were excellent!!

2  Thank jotoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I had dinner in this restaurant with a group of 7 and everyone enjoyed food and ambience very much. We had steaks, chicken and fish. Everything was very tasty and the portions just perfect.
Thanks again for a nice evening in one of Glengarriff's finest restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jorg1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a lovely meal here on Friday 8th March. The restaurant is only open on Friday and Saturday evening (maybe also for Sunday lunch) at this time of year. We were afraid we might be the only customers as there seemed to be very few visitors about. We needn't have worried! The restaurant was three quarters full and very atmospheric - soft lighting and candles. The waitress was welcoming -friendly and attentive. While we waited for the wine, a basket of fresh bread and a beautiful tapenade was served. For our starters we chose the prawn and avocado salad and the seafood chowder. Both were delicious and the prawn salad, particularly, was a generous portion, ideal for sharing. For mains we had chicken on a bed of mash and hake in an almond butter. These were accompanied by generous quantities of veg and potato. For desert we opted for the sherry trifle and the pudding. Again delicious - the only trouble was we were so full at that point we could hardly finish! Meals were well presented and the service well paced. Be aware that advance booking is advised especially on Saturday night. Also, the early bird finishes up at 7.30 - and is priced at 27.90 euro for a three course. This seemed good value to us. Obviously, the a la carte menu is more expensive and a three course dinner could work out considerably more expensive. Recommended and if we are in this area again we will certainly return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Eams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Martello Restaurant also viewed

Glengarriff, County Cork
Glengarriff, County Cork
 
Glengarriff, County Cork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing