We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food at excellent prices”
Review of MacCarthy's Bar

MacCarthy's Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Irish, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mac Carthy's Bar, at the Glengarrif Park Hotel County Cork, is open daily with a selection of teas, coffees, freshly baked scones and Bar Food served all day. Relax on the benches outside with the daily newspaper or your favourite book and let the world go by as the village of Glengarriff unhurriedly awakes. The Bar Menu is served all day, with a daily special roast of the day served with buttered vegetables and creamed potatoes and a varied and interesting menu using only the finest local produce.There is live music at the weekends which is enjoyed by both locals and hotel guests alike.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food at excellent prices”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This Bar is attached to the Park Bistro, and presumably shares some of the menu. Glengarriff has lots of eateries, (including one terrible one!), but this would be hard to beat for quality, value and service. We had a steak which was as nice as I've ever tasted, and an unusual chicken and prawn combination which was accompanied by a delicious selection of fresh vegetables.
The owner was attentive and extremely helpful, and the bill came as a pleasant surprise after we had had our fill.
Look no further!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodgkint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    41
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our best meal in Ireland!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Ducked into here looking for somewhere to eat before the Uilleann Pipes Festival began. What a find! We've been travelling around Counties Cork & Kerry in a camper van for a week, stopping in various places for food - and this is the only meal that has had me reaching for the Trip Advisor iPhone app to leave a review (the free wifi helps too)!

My wife had the roast of the day - lamb - which was melt-in-the-mouth good, with perfectly cooked veg, and brilliant value at €14. I was tempted by the mussel, prawn & monkfish Thai curry, which was absolutely fantastic - best curry I've had in ages (and I'm a huge curry lover).

Add to this very friendly staff, pristine facilities, (did I mention the free wifi?), and all three of the main Irish draught stouts on offer… and I must heartily recommend this pub of you're passing through.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drfrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

While travelling back from Bikefest in Killarney We stopped for lunch in MacCarthy`s. The doorstep sandwiches are really that doorsteps and not only that but the roast beef was lovely not stringy or gristle. the staff were friendly and efficient, it`s reasonably priced so I would recommend it to anybody.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gdhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Sunday lunchtime.
The bar was virtually empty.
The service as slow and indifferent.the staff seeemed more intent on settling the schedule for the following week.
The food when it eventually arrived was resting on salads that looked jaded and were drowned in pools of dressing.
When we commented on this we were met with the response" what's wrong with it?"
No expression of regret at all.
We had earlier been told that sandwiches were not available despite the fact that at that atage the bar was empty and so presumably the kitchn was not overworked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DFMac714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Big portion, nice food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice pub with good food. We ordered pork and beef and also the soup of the day which was mushroom. We enjoyed the big portion of meat and potatoe. We also found a hungarian beer mat on the wall :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank azreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacCarthy's Bar also viewed

Glengarriff, County Cork
 
Glengarriff, County Cork
Glengarriff, County Cork
 

Been to MacCarthy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing