We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glengariff Woods

Glengariff Woods
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Glengarriff
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for walking”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I've been taken to this part of Ireland by my very good friend, and we went for a walk around the park, as well as to the Lady Bantry's Lookout. And as we climbed to the top (many steps so you need to be in the right physical condition), the sun decided to grace us with its presence, and the view from the top was just magnificent. It was just the two of us sitting up there on the rocks, and I thought the moment couldn't have been more perfect :) Absolutely stunning, just like the rest of Ireland.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ania_mulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    26
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Absolutly magic. If you want to see the oldest oak and birch groves in Ireland this is a place for you. Great walks and absolutely fantastic views from Lady Bantry's Lookout. One of my favourite places.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Syl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
185 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Old oaks and tranquil river”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Unfortunately we did not have more time to spend at this park. Despite the rainy morning we took the River Walk trail for views of a meandering river with old, tall oak trees. Well marked trails with easy access from parking lot. Would have skipped going to Garnish Island and spent more time here if we were to be in this area again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
califirnia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deep in the woods”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Adventure awaits every turn! You never want the trail to end, it only gets better and better!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I lovely walk around Garnish and then a quick drive to the woods to get a brisk walk. It is a gorgeous place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glengariff Woods also viewed

Glengarriff, County Cork
Glengarriff, County Cork
 
Glengarriff, County Cork
Glengarriff, County Cork
 

Been to Glengariff Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing