We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveler rating
281
175
75
39
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
281
175
75
39
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm garnish island yeats suite bantry bay wedding reception bridal suite sea view old style lovely view stunning location west cork reception area hake staff were very friendly dining room lovely hotel bar food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 607 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2019

I travelled to the Eccles with a group of friends in April. Even before we arrived all my dealings with the staff here at the hotel was an absolute pleasure especially with a large group booking.From Sandra at reception to Aidan in the bar and all the other staff we dealt with ,nothing was too big a task or too silly a question .We had bed and breakfast with dinner that night in the hotel too. It was exceptional value for money and the quality and service was far beyond what we paid for it. I know they have even more refurbishment plans in the pipeline for this old world charm hotel but with this staff at the helm the only way is up
Thank you for everything .

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jessandshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

I was part of a group that had a gathering here in April. The staff could not have done more to help us with the organizing and make us feel welcome when we all landed, they went above and beyond to accommodate us. We were allowed to decorate the room we dined in and that room was ours for the night. We had an outstanding meal, and all dietary requirements in our group were catered for. We had our breakfast all together the following morning in that same room and it was also delicious. A wonderful hotel,with old world charm, and a warm and welcoming staff, who were the jewel in the crown. Excellent.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClaireCron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

We went there on the Sunday of the May Bank Holiday weekend for Sunday lunch.
There is a calmness and serenity about this old style decor of the hotel coupled with a very scenic view of the bay. The air there is so fresh and invigorating. We ordered for main course 24 hour braised featherblade of beef , shoulder of lamb and pan-fried hake. The hake was served with purple potatoes and had lovely soft texture. The lamb was slow cooked , soft and succulent and tasted excellent. The braised beef was nice and soft as expected but the accompanying sauce had no punch or impact of flavour and this needs to be improved upon. The vegetables that accompanied the meal could have done with a few minutes more of cooking to make them softer so as to get to the right balance in texture.Deserts were excellent . We opted for the rhubarb and apple crumble and the lemon poisset , which was presented very nicely on the plate. Service was excellent.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick / Joann... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Best wedding meal I have had delicious and tasty , vegetarian friends were incredibly surprised as usually they are presented with tasteless pasta or stir fry's
Staff are brilliant helpful and efficient . If ever staff make a hotel this group certainly do
The location is definitely a plus but the food hospitality and hotel staff make the Eccles a truly lovely place to stay. I hope to visit again
Marian

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Experience178279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccles H, General Manager at Eccles Hotel Glengarriff, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear Marian,

What a fantastic review of the Eccles Hotel. Thank you so much for taking the time to express your gratitude. I am delighted to hear you had such a good time and you were well looked after so well. As our Chef says ' meat and fish is the last component to every dish, the time goes into everything else first'.

I will pass on your gratitude to the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back int he future.

David Manning

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

14 of us stayed for 2 nights over Easter. The views from my room was beautiful onto the WAW. We were in one of the new refurbished rooms which was a treat. The hotel is going through some refurbishments but not to the discomfort of guests. We had a lovely time & the reception staff were so helpful with trip suggestions, maps, etc. The highlight of the stay was the food. We tried the restaurant the first night which was lovely & the bar food was just as good the 2nd night. The breakfast was also delicious. Great menus for all meals. Adrian in the bar was amazing, he looked after food & treats for the 8 children which allowed us adults to enjoy our meals. He couldn’t have done more. The entertainment in the bar was much better than expected. When we saw a guy setting up with his guitar, we expected some traditional Irish music which isn’t for me. But he played some really chill out, sing along classics which we all enjoyed. Would definitely recommend a visit to Eccles & tons to do in the area! We will be back...

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Deirdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews