We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eccles Hotel Glengarriff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in August with our two kids and really enjoyed every minute of our stay. The Eccles Hotel was just perfect and ideal with the staff going that extra mile to make you feel so welcome. Glengarriff is situated in a majestic location, with the Hotel being perfectly positioned to capture all of Glengarriff beauty and surroundings. The Hotel and the location combined together makes the most relaxing holiday. The Hotel facilites were super with both the bar and the restaurant providing an excellent choice of foods and that perfect pint. The Children were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed their stay, with the added bonus of a playground located near by.

Room Tip: The Yeats room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    99
    37
    22
    16
See reviews for
75
145
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Firstly the surrounding area is scenic, superb and beautiful. The hotel itself is old fashioned but in a way this adds to its charm. The Staff are very friendly and overall lovely people. The food was great, the menu suits young and old alike. The room was cosy and clean, the view , amazing. The bar even had a young magcian there doing amazing miracles and entertaining guests! It was deffinetly an experience and i would reccomend The Eccles to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in August with our three kids.. the staff could not have been nicer and looked after us very well. The food in both the diningroom and bar was delicious and service excellent.. the surroundings of the Hotel are beautiful and very calming.
We will be back to the eccles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

What an amazing experience, having escaped the rat race of work and dublin the minute we arrived at the hotel we were imediately relaxed. Lovely warm welcome from the very helpfull friendly staff. Our children were very well catered for and a babysitter was supplied so we could have our meals in peace. The food was absolutely fabulous and had a wide variety of options to choose from and the children loved it. The room was of a great size with a lovely bathroom all of which was spotless with beautiful sea views. We are so looking forward to returning to the Eccles next year for more tlc from the superb staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork,ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

There was carpet in ladies bathroom- very unhygenic
Overall we found the staff of the hotel very unfriendly. No 'hello' when passing reception/morning breakfast staff same.
No details given to us on arrival about their 'wednesday irish night'- we just happened to find out about it ourselves-poorly advertised. We found out by observing arrivasl of cars in carpark!
Food overall was poor. We had breakfast each morning and one evening meal.
Overall there was a lack of 'holiday buzz' and was very quiet.Not very child friendly.

Room Tip: ask to have view to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sinead f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in August and had a wonderful experience. Everything you could ask for from a hotel was delivered. A stunning view from our bedroom which was very comfortable and cosy. The food in the dining room was second to none and the staff could not do enough for you. We cannot wait until we are in this part of the country again so we can come back to the Eccles. For value it would be hare to beat.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony over the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank publishing22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

A good hotel that is in need of some TLC. The room was very clean as was our bathroom but the window s and window frames need a clean. The window next to the lift can't have been cleaned in months!. The dinner was good. The breakfast was adequate but the choice was very limited. It would have been nice to have had fruit at breakfast. The dining room staff were rather bossy and not very helpful, we had to wait 15 minutes to get coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glengarriff
0.3 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#2 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.2 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
18.4 mi away
Celtic Ross Hotel
Celtic Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosscarbery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eccles Hotel Glengarriff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eccles Hotel Glengarriff

Property: Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Address: Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eccles Hotel Glengarriff 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Magic of West Cork at ECCLES Hotel in Glengarriff Steeped in 250 years of history and situated in the quaint village of Glengarriff overlooking Bantry bay and Garnish island, ECCLES Hotel in West Cork offers the finest in charm, comfort and location. Our stunning location on the beautiful Beara Peninsula in West Cork makes ECCLES Hotel the perfect retreat for those looking to relax and unwind in fabulous natural surroundings and is the perfect base for a magical journey around West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way. From Gougane Barra and Garnish Island to the pretty quaint villages and towns of West Cork and West Kerry the richness of beauty and variety of things to do and places to explore is beyond compare. If you are looking for a Hotel in West Cork with something for everyone- ECCLES Hotel is the one for you. Golfing, walking, cycling, horse riding, fishing, sailing and sightseeing along West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way- this stunning part of Ireland and West Cork has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eccles Hotel Glengarriff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing