We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayes for 3 days with my husband and my parents
try and go alteast once a year
Its my little piece of heaven love this charming quiet hotel
cant wait to come back next year
beautiful room with the most amazing view of the bay

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 427 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here for one night with my girlfriend in August 2011. I was expecting some charm and a little bit of magic but ended up been underwhelmed.
We had a nice room overlooking the bay. The place was clean and had a lovely large bed.
The food in the hotel is average. They need to add some charm or colour to the hotel. the dining room for example needs a good designers touch.
The one thing that really struck us is that the staff seem burnt out. You pick up the vibe that they really dont want to be there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had my wedding reception at the Eccles, on a gloriously sunny Saturday in July, which meant the drinks reception could be outdoors, making the most of the beautiful setting. The staff were helpful and flexible during the planning stage. Everything went off perfectly on the day thanks to the excellent management ...I suppose most importantly the food was great and the staff were friendly and helpful, which is NB for a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere for guests...The bridal suite is gorgeous...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine_Wolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We held a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration here in early August with over 100 guests in attendance. The management and staff were a pleasure to deal with when planning the event and were so helpful and efficient on the day. Nothing was left to chance! Many of the guests remarked on the stunning location, the relaxed ambiance, the very helpful staff and the beautiful meal that was served. Those who stayed overnight were delighted with their experience.

Full marks all round!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beara080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August. 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 14. Our family room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a cliff. Even though I had booked the hotel 3 weeks prior the receptionist said that this was the only family room available as they were fully booked. Definitely would not consider this to be a family hotel. More for senior citizens and coach parties. Did not find staff or receptionist very helpful. Hotel definitely in need of some modern refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassie068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel is fab, ideal for families, children were made to feel so welcome, the staff of the hotel done anything they could with meals etc for our children, nothing or no request was a problem. It is situated in a beautiful villlage overlooking Glengarriff bay, playground and village is a short ,nice walk away. Family rooms were the best we every stayed in, very spacious. The bar food was lovely and not over priced. I could write a page on this hotel but really book it, see for yourselves. We cannot wait to go back. A small piece of West Cork we love, you won't be disappointed.

Angela O'Sullivan

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank Girl186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stunning location, unassuming comfort, staff who really went the extra mile and for whom nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 190817Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glengarriff
0.4 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
529 reviews
6.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casey's Hotel
Casey's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
218 reviews
4.9 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
187 reviews
18.1 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eccles Hotel Glengarriff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eccles Hotel Glengarriff

Address: Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range: $89 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eccles Hotel Glengarriff 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Magic of West Cork at ECCLES Hotel in Glengarriff Steeped in 250 years of history and situated in the quaint village of Glengarriff overlooking Bantry bay and Garinish island, ECCLES Hotel in West Cork offers the finest in charm, comfort and location. Our stunning location on the beautiful Beara Peninsula in West Cork makes ECCLES Hotel the perfect retreat for those looking to relax and unwind in fabulous natural surroundings and is the perfect base for a magical journey around West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way. From Gougane Barra and Garinish Island to the pretty quaint villages and towns of West Cork and West Kerry the richness of beauty and variety of things to do and places to explore is beyond compare. If you are looking for a Hotel in West Cork with something for everyone- ECCLES Hotel is the one for you. Golfing, walking, cycling, horse riding, fishing, sailing and sightseeing along West Cork's Wild Atlantic Way- this stunning part of Ireland and West Cork has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eccles Hotel Glengarriff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing