We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree, it is a "bit" outside of town...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Klondyke House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Waterville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our room was nice and clean...Breakfast was good. We ate dinner at the restaurant/pub across the street.....it was wonderful. One of our best meals in Ireland. I would recommend the Salmon.

Room Tip: We had one of the front rooms - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zabieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Klondyke House and had a really wonderful time. The house is located just a 5 minute stroll from the pretty village of Waterville, and the walk to town is not to be missed - with the ocean literally a stone's throw on the right of the road and magnificent Kerry mountains further off to the left! Our room had a panoramic view of the Atlantic Ocean and the world renowned Waterville Golf Links. The room was bright, warm, clean and comfortable, and the perfect size for our week long visit. Breakfast each day was scrumptious, and the service throughout our visit was friendly, helpful and efficient. The village has numerous restaurants serving fresh seafood and friendly Irish pubs with lively traditional music. There's a great restaurant just across the street, a craft store for shopping next door, an enchanting lake for fishing, and excellent outdoor pursuit facilities we enjoyed, such as cycling, horse-riding, Kerry Way walks, golfing, watersports and boat trips to islands on the lake and in the sea. All of which we were helped to book by our wonderful hosts. No wonder Charlie Chaplin loved this place, we can't wait to return for the festival! At the end of our stay we paid by credit card and had no problem whatsoever. Klondyke also has beautiful self-catering houses on it's grounds, so we've already booked to come back with our kids next year. A fantastic place, great for the mind, body and soul! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GolfingEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The rooms were small, our's had two single beds, and it appears to have been converted into an en suite at one point in time, with the bathroom having been shoehorned in to the side of the room, up a small flight of stairs. Bathroom very small, but clean. Room was quiet. Location might be better in summer, but it was a mile outside of the town center, and seemed a bit desolate. The rooms are in need of updating. Breakfast was very good, coffee made in french press at table!

Good, off street parking. Pretty easy to find, hostess nice.

Room Tip: Booked via Aer Lingus package tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuckeb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Cork, Ireland. Warm, friendly and very efficient. The room was bright and clean with a comfortable bed. Good choice of breakfast, served with a smile. Handy with just a short walk to town with friendly pubs and lots of traditional Irish music & great Seafood Dining. Ideal for golf lovers. We will definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CorkGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Nice stop on the Ring of Kerry. Good location between Kerry and Dingle. The Waterville Links was truely a uniuqe experience. I wish I could have fished. Not a bunch of resteraunts. There was one across the street that had a decent menu, but was closed. The course was in view of the house. Very friendly owners and served a nice Irish Breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buckstove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We were a bit a bit disappointed with the Ring of Kerry overall and so we were not all that happy with our stay in Waterville. To us it was the one spot we feel we would rather have not stopped at. Scenically the area is lovely but the town in general felt very run down to us. Many store fronts were in disrepair or empty, and out of those that looked like they were still in business quite a few were not even open, including the restaurant across the street from the B&B.

As far as the B&B itself, The exterior was nice and modern and there were very pretty panoramic views. We were shown two rooms (she has to move us from the first one) and both seemed a bit tired and in need of a little updating. Our room had a phone, which was a first on our travels, but we couldn't get it to work. We had a room at the front, which had a nice little window seat overlooking the sea. We also had a tv, and tea making facilities, which were nice. The ensuite had a shower and it was nice and clean, as was the room. It was just the decor and furniture etc in our bedroom was all felt a bit dated. Also we did find the walls to be a bit on the thin side. The lounge and dining room downstairs were more modern than the upstairs, but still the overall atmosphere was not that homey. Don’t get me wrong, they were very nice people, and the best part of our stay was the breakfast, which was great! We had an opportunity to chat with our hosts in the morning before we left and they were very nice and friendly, asking us about our trip and wishing us on our way.

Perhaps it was the tired feeling of the whole town that left us feeling this way, but we just found that Waterville all felt a little sad and uncared for. It really could be a gem of a town if given a chance!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

During our travels we do not prebook but find a place at the end of the day. This B&B was clean, great room with an ocean view, good breakfast and walking distance to town although there is a nice restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDukeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waterville hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#2 of 3 in Waterville
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Waterville
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Cable Historic House
The Old Cable Historic House
#10 of 13 in Waterville
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brookhaven House
Brookhaven House
#2 of 13 in Waterville
149 reviews
2.1 mi away
Currane Lodge
Currane Lodge
#1 of 13 in Waterville
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Grady's Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klondyke House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klondyke House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Klondyke House New Line Road, Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range: $91 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Klondyke House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Klondyke House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing