We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Old Cable Historic House
Ranked #10 of 11 Waterville B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“friendly and helpful”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Due to other commitments we were only able to spend one night here on our recent tour of Ireland. However, during that time, we found Margaret to be the perfect host. She was friendly, helpful and a delight to talk to. Both our evening meal and breakfast were of top quality. Had a little bit of trouble with the Wifi and would have liked a better view but overall were very pleased.
Margaret's booklet about the laying of the telegraph cable was most impressive. It was also very kind of Margaret not to charge us for the second night which we had booked but couldn't honour.
A lovely lady.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    42
    19
    13
    21
See reviews for
38
78
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have spent 3 nights here at the Old Cable Historic House & have to say that I have been absolutely delighted and impressed with everything here. If you are looking for a swanky, 5 star hotel with super-modern facilities,you should go elsewhere. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere with great customer care & comfortable place to hang your hat while you explore the magnificent surroundings, then you will be delighted to stay here.

I stayed in a double room with an ensuite bathroom. The room was quiet and comfortable with fresh linens every day & a spacious bathroom with great water pressure in the shower! (not something I have been able to say very many times on any of my 4 trips to Ireland). There is a simple / basic restaurant that serves a lovely breakfast and dinner in the evenings - great after a long day of hiking & photography which is what brought me to this part of Kerry.

Aside from the comfortable room, short 5 minute walk into the village (town) of Waterville, and the gorgeous area all around Waterville, I have been incredibly impressed by the owner / operators attention to detail and their helpfulness. A couple of examples? I arrived at the Old Cable Historic House after a few days of travelling and hiking and needed laundry facilities. Margaret ensured that my things were sent to be laundered and returned by the end of the first day-- "Don't worry! I will get it taken care of for you." When I arrived back on my second night feeling SO exhausted from a 10 hour outdoor photography program, the last thing I felt like doing was leaving the B & B to go for dinner in town. The dinner menu at the Old Cable House is primarily seafood however, and I don't eat seafood. Once again, the owner & cook conferred and offered me something different that was not even on the menu. TALK ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE!

I have other examples as well but must share what may seem like a very tiny thing to many people but was a delight for me! I arrived back to my room after my first day of travelling to discover that there was a lovely wine goblet in my room sitting beside the wine I had brought with me. NO drinking wine out of a coffee mug! Once again, only a tiny thing but something I was VERY appreciative of.

This is a comfortable (not fancy) accommodation close to many wonderful amenities. The staff here are very helpful, accommodating, and gracious. I feel lucky to have stumbled upon this little gem (super clean by the way) and I have travelled extensively in Ireland. I will definitely return to the Old Cable Historic House in Waterville!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

After traveling all around Ireland and staying in b & b's we had wonderful experiences, until we came to the old cable house. It started badly when we pulled in and the place looked dirty and unkept, when we were shown our room it looked more like something you would see in a hostel than a b & b. when I went to use the rest room there were pubic hairs and urine stains on the toilet seat, at that point we should have left but we were afraid we couldn't find something else.
Pros:
Good fruit pancakes ( but overall breakfast was not up to par with what we had in other b & b's)

Cons:
Owners were not very friendly
House dirty and unkept, inside and outside
No sitting area for guests

I could go on but I don't want to think about it anymore, in short all I can say is, do not go !, there are much better options available

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank swdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Margaret and Alan were wonderful hosts. We stayed nearly a week and the Old Cable House became our headquarters for our visit to our ancestral home. Alan is marvelous cook and a great conversationalist. Breakfast was fabulous every morning. He even made dinner for us one evening and it was delicious. Information about the historic laying of the trans-Atlantic cable are all around in the cheerful and spacious dining area and Margaret is very informatve. Our room was comfortable, warm and cozy. The beds were very comfortable. We slept like logs! Our bathroom was perfect with a room sized shower. The location is an ideal stepping off point for any direction in the Ring of Kerry. It is only a short walk into Waterville which is one of the prettiest towns in Ireland.

Room Tip: All the rooms are ground level so no issues with accessiblity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryb5810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here in late October and found Margaret and Alan to be very charming hosts. We loved talking to both of them and their insights and information about the area including the best routes to drive around the Ring of Kerry were very helpful. If it had not been for them we would have missed the wonderful drive through the Gap of Dunloe. It was an adventure to say the least and the scenery was exquisite. We were only sorry we had no time to take them up on their suggestion for a ferry trip to Valencia Island. The included breakfast was more than ample and included three choices and we had dinner there the second night, cooked by Alan, which included three varieties of very fresh fish. Our room was large and comfortable with plenty of towels, a TV and a coffee setup. We walked into town and had beers at the Fisherman's Bar and then dinner at a pub across the street. Loved the village of Waterville and only wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouvenirSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place is a real gem. Definitely recommend staying here. The food is very good and the rooms are cosy. Walking distance to everything. Nice owners. Make sure you head down to the Fisherman's Pub is you are a golfer or a fisherman

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice clean accommodation with character and a friendly hostess. Bright and spacious room. Large parking area. Close to everything. Basic but nice breakfast. I rang to book instead of online and got a really good rate.
Only problem was the crying baby at 12 am. Not their fault of course.....especially seeing as it was my baby!!!
Would stay there again

Room Tip: I was happy with room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerryrogue, Manager at The Old Cable Historic House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Shauna thank you very much for the kind words, I have trawled through my phone numbers over the past couple of days trying to identify your number ( as your booking was made over the phone) I have called many folks in Cork - as that is all I have recorded unfortunately, but not you ? great I could identify you here ( the baby did it ) you left your " watch" behind in your room - I have it safe for you if you could give us a call or send on your address and I will post it on to you, thank god I found you ..........call off the search!

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville
0.3 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Currane Lodge
Currane Lodge
#1 of 11 in Waterville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Smuggler's Inn
Smuggler's Inn
#8 of 11 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifford's B & B
Clifford's B & B
#7 of 11 in Waterville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cable Historic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cable Historic House

Property: The Old Cable Historic House
Address: The Old Cable House 9/10 Iveragh Terrace | Old Telegraph Cable Station Milestone Heritage Site Waterville Ring of Kerry, Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Cable Historic House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A halfway stopping point on world famous Ring of Kerry, this Milestone Heritage Site situated in Waterville Village traces its origins to the First Transatlantic Telegraph Cables laid from Ireland/Europe to USA in 1866. The remarkable story of the telegraph and the nineteenth century's online pioneers - stay with us and experience this remarkable aspect of Ireland's history and culture. That incomparable Irish mist, we reveal the Ireland you had only dreamed of - colourful, unstuffy, and a infectiously attractive mix of styles and people. Polished floors, robust Irish cooking, medicinal whiskeys, fly-fishing and storytelling characters, Islands, mountains, and goats who own the road, ever changing skies, magical wishing wells. Believe every word you hear about the beauty of Waterville Ring of Kerry, however its the warm hearted friendly people whose healing inheritance will nurture and settle you along with a majestic landscape and its power to embrace and nourish you.Happy to organise preferred rates for Waterville Golf Links - Skellig Michael 6th Century Monastic Settlement - Fishing - Ring of Kerry Tours - First Transatlantic Telegraph Cable Walking Tours /Lectures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Old Cable Historic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing